The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 29, 2009, 11:36am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: West of Atlanta, GA
Posts: 381
My only question is this.

If you are going to correct it after a pitch, how far will you go before you decide it is no longer correctable? 2 pitches, 3, 4, next batter takes 2 pitches,.... How many before you hit a cut off point?

Tough thing to do since there are no rules to cover correcting something. I find this difficult for 1 reason. This is not protestable until 1 pitch has been thrown. But, no protest is supposed to be done if 1 pitch has been thrown. I would side with correcting it and call the batter out. If it is protested(either correcting it or not), it is a 50/50 chance to be upheld.
__________________
Question everything until you get an irrefutable or understandable answer...Don't settle for "That's Just the Way it is"
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 29, 2009, 11:41am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by GA Umpire View Post
This is not protestable until 1 pitch has been thrown.
Not sure why you'd say that. In Ohio it's not "protestable" at all. But this isn't BOO.

The D coach should have requested time immediately and asked why the batter was not out for bunting foul with 2 strikes. There's no limit on when the coach can discuss the issue, just on when the umpire can fix it.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 29, 2009, 11:52am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 16
There's no limit on when the coach can discuss the issue, just on when the umpire can fix it.

this brings me back to my original question. what is the rule support on when the umpire can fix it?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 29, 2009, 12:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northern California
Posts: 396
Quote:
Originally Posted by FATUMP View Post
There's no limit on when the coach can discuss the issue, just on when the umpire can fix it.

this brings me back to my original question. what is the rule support on when the umpire can fix it?
There is no rule to support it either way. except 9.01 (c)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 29, 2009, 01:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Newburgh NY
Posts: 1,822
Quote:
Quote:
Originally Posted by FATUMP View Post
There's no limit on when the coach can discuss the issue, just on when the umpire can fix it.

this brings me back to my original question. what is the rule support on when the umpire can fix it?
You do not need rule support. Remember the Indians / O's game a few years back?

A run was put back on the board some 3 innings later.

In the OP you fix the problem. Everything that happened after B1 bunted a ball foul with 2 strikes and 2 outs is null and void NO MATTER when discovered as EVIDENCED by MLB ruling concerning the Inidans / O's game. The link is posted below in case you are interested

MLB denies protest by Indians - MLB - ESPN

Pete Booth
__________________
Peter M. Booth
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 29, 2009, 01:48pm
Stop staring at me swan.
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,974
only if it would've been the third out though right?
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 29, 2009, 02:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Newburgh NY
Posts: 1,822
Quote:
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnyg08 View Post
only if it would've been the third out though right?
That is correct EXCEPT if the player who should have been out scored and anything that scored after out number 2.

Example:

leadoff batter: Bunts the ball Foul with 2 strikes - Nothing happens and then B1 singles.

He comes around later to score. His run WOULD NOT COUNT because by RULE he should have been out.

Any runs that score after him ok.

Now batter number 6 is up and grounds out for what should have been out number 2 but is registered as out number 1. Any runs scored after him OK

Now the team bats around and the lead-off hitter comes up again and grounds out for what should have been the end of the inning, however, out number 2 is only registered.

Now any run scored after that is NULL and VOID.

I realize we could also have base running infractions and I will not even venture into that area.

Yes it would be combersome but according to what happened in the Indians / O's game IMO MLB opened up the floodgates to these types of situations.

FWIW these types of things should be treated as appeals meaning if the opposing coach did not notice it as with a base-running mistake, they have until the next pitch, IBB or play to make it KNOWN. After that - TOO BAD, however, that's not what MLB decided.

The Indians lodged a protest and lost.

Pete Booth
__________________
Peter M. Booth
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 29, 2009, 02:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 387
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeteBooth View Post
You do not need rule support. Remember the Indians / O's game a few years back?

A run was put back on the board some 3 innings later.

In the OP you fix the problem. Everything that happened after B1 bunted a ball foul with 2 strikes and 2 outs is null and void NO MATTER when discovered as EVIDENCED by MLB ruling concerning the Inidans / O's game. The link is posted below in case you are interested

MLB denies protest by Indians - MLB - ESPN

Pete Booth
Pete,

I would argue that these are the same. A scoring error may be fixed at any time, even post-game in certain cases. Scoring errors typically do not directly impact the immediate action on the field but rather add/remove runs.

This is a playing rule mistake where there is a specific time limit set for protest / fix. In this case the manager had his chance & missed it - let a pitch go by.

In OBR we have to eat this and play on on. If a protest is filed so be it, let the league decide. In FED we CAN fix this due to the wider latitude given umpires for this sort of situation.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 29, 2009, 03:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Newburgh NY
Posts: 1,822
[QUOTE]
Quote:
Originally Posted by socalblue1 View Post
Pete,

This is a playing rule mistake where there is a specific time limit set for protest / fix. In this case the manager had his chance & missed it - let a pitch go by.
Please read the article

Quote:
The run, which scored on a sacrifice fly in the third inning before the Indians could turn a double play, was later added in the sixth inning -- a ruling that left players, coaches, managers and everyone at Jacobs Field scratching their heads.

MLB chief operating officer Bob DuPuy decided Wednesday that because the umpires' mistake did not involve a judgment call, and because there is nothing in the Official Baseball Rules to address when umpires can make a correction, the umps can act at their own discretion.
The run was later added because a RULE was misappled. In fact if memory serves the PU went into the umpire dressing room to LOOK UP the rule. This involved a timing play where R3 scored BEFORE the completion of the double play.

We are not talking about your run of the mill SCOREKEEPING error here.

Your statement This is a playing rule mistake where there is a specific time limit set for protest / fix. is incorrect and is the REASON the Indians protested. They LOST the Protest.

According to MLB the umps can act at their own discretion concerning RULE discrepancies.

There are SCOREKEEPING ERRORS and then there are Scoring ERRORS because of an umpire's mistake which we are talking about in this OP.

Pete Booth
__________________
Peter M. Booth
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 29, 2009, 09:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 387
[QUOTE=PeteBooth;598721]
Quote:

Please read the article



The run was later added because a RULE was misapplied. In fact if memory serves the PU went into the umpire dressing room to LOOK UP the rule. This involved a timing play where R3 scored BEFORE the completion of the double play.

We are not talking about your run of the mill SCOREKEEPING error here.

Your statement This is a playing rule mistake where there is a specific time limit set for protest / fix. is incorrect and is the REASON the Indians protested. They LOST the Protest.

According to MLB the umps can act at their own discretion concerning RULE discrepancies.

There are SCOREKEEPING ERRORS and then there are Scoring ERRORS because of an umpire's mistake which we are talking about in this OP.

Pete Booth
Pete,

In this case the run was not properly counted due to a mistake on a timing play (IE: a scoring error not properly counting a run legally scored). There are still three outs and no further change could result in the inning by correcting the error.

Compare that to the OP: Potentially the entire inning changes because play was allowed to continue.

Don't get me wrong. In this case I would be in favor of a CSFP solution. Remove the run & ending the inning is really the right result.

My problem is this: Under OBR the rule book has several areas where the next pitch or play specifically precludes an appeal or protest. Sure we can fall back to 9.01(C) but IMO it's a hard sell.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 29, 2009, 08:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 1,577
Score the run?

When an umpire errs, both teams are required to know the situation.
Here a bunt foul for strike three results in an out. Three outs end an innning.
Defense should recognize the third out and clear the field. No.
Defense provides the same batter with a do-over pitch.
Batter singles and a run is scored.
Coach then decides to investigate the matter.
If we overlook the bunt foul, clearly we play on and the run counts.
But if we recognize the third out and clear the field, does the run still count?
__________________
SAump

Last edited by SAump; Wed Apr 29, 2009 at 08:17pm.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I have never had this situation. jwwashburn Baseball 9 Tue Jun 17, 2008 11:30am
8.7 SITUATION A assignmentmaker Basketball 12 Thu Oct 27, 2005 10:44am
Help with situation Ebayref Basketball 17 Wed Apr 13, 2005 03:35pm
Another FT situation John Schaefferkoetter Basketball 1 Thu Jan 22, 2004 10:45am
DQ Situation Ron Basketball 4 Tue Nov 05, 2002 07:41am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:28am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1