The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   NFHS: Does the Run Count? (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/52974-nfhs-does-run-count.html)

Spence Mon Apr 27, 2009 07:56am

NFHS: Does the Run Count?
 
NFHS: R2 R3 1 out.

Fly ball in the gap. F8 makes a diving catch. R3 tags and scores. R2 didn't tag and was almost to 3rd base when it was caught. He gets thrown out at 2nd trying to get back.

If it was clear that R3 scored before R2 was called out should R3's run count?

dash_riprock Mon Apr 27, 2009 08:14am

Yes. Time play.

Rich Ives Mon Apr 27, 2009 08:15am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Spence (Post 598020)
NFHS: R2 R3 1 out.

Fly ball in the gap. F8 makes a diving catch. R3 tags and scores. R2 didn't tag and was almost to 3rd base when it was caught. He gets thrown out at 2nd trying to get back.

If it was clear that R3 scored before R2 was called out should R3's run count?


Yes.

Contrary to popular opinion, the out on R2 is NOT a force - it's an appeal. Therefore it's a timing play.

GA Umpire Mon Apr 27, 2009 08:26am

The only 3 ways(I can think of) the run doesn't score are:

If R3 did leave early and the defense appeals that, even after the out at 2B. Then, you would recognize a 4th out and remove the run.

Or, R2 is called out before R3 scores.

Or, R3 misses HP and that is appealed.

Otherwise, R3 scores b/c this is not a force play. It is a timing play.

mbyron Mon Apr 27, 2009 10:49am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich Ives (Post 598023)
Contrary to popular opinion, the out on R2 is NOT a force - it's an appeal. Therefore it's a timing play.

Your answer is correct in this instance, but your reasoning is not, since it suggests that an appeal play as such is NEVER a force play.

That's not true. There are 2 kinds of (baserunning) appeal play (I know that you know all this, Rich, but I'm pointing it out for others):

1. A retouch appeal, which is what we have here. Retouch appeals are NEVER force plays, so if there's a play at the plate it would be a time play.

2. A missed base appeal. Missed base appeals ARE force plays when the runner was forced to the base he missed. This factor can come into play when determining whether a given play is a time play.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:43pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1