View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 27, 2009, 08:15am
Rich Ives Rich Ives is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,205
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spence View Post
NFHS: R2 R3 1 out.

Fly ball in the gap. F8 makes a diving catch. R3 tags and scores. R2 didn't tag and was almost to 3rd base when it was caught. He gets thrown out at 2nd trying to get back.

If it was clear that R3 scored before R2 was called out should R3's run count?

Yes.

Contrary to popular opinion, the out on R2 is NOT a force - it's an appeal. Therefore it's a timing play.
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote