The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 13, 2008, 01:44am
In Time Out
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 794
10 second count, AP

Sure this has been discussed just couldn't find it. On a 10 second count if there is a held ball and possession stays with the team trying to cross do you reset the count?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 13, 2008, 01:50am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
yes
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 13, 2008, 01:51am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Shishmaref, Alaska
Posts: 187
Send a message via Skype™ to shishstripes
yes
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 13, 2008, 07:35am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,621
Yes, it is not a shot clock, and resets on any whistle (held ball, violation, foul, time-out, etc.).
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 13, 2008, 02:14pm
In Time Out
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 794
thanks
any whistle? I thought it didn't reset when the ball went out of bounds.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 13, 2008, 02:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,896
There are no counts that are "suspended" and re-started when a whistle blows in NFHS. Everything (10-second, 3-seconds, 5-second closely guarded, 5-second inbounding) resets when a whistle blows the ball dead.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 13, 2008, 02:24pm
In Time Out
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 794
ok. good to know. Also, really quick after a team has gone into the front court- say a foul and inbounds from the side and they throw into the backcourt. Do you do another 10 second count?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 13, 2008, 02:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,896
Quote:
Originally Posted by mutantducky View Post
ok. good to know. Also, really quick after a team has gone into the front court- say a foul and inbounds from the side and they throw into the backcourt. Do you do another 10 second count?
You always have a 10-second count when the ball is in the backcourt of the team in team control.

So, in your situation, yes, the official would start a 10-second count when the ball is controlled in the backcourt.

Also, if the ball were in the frontcourt, then tipped by the defense into the backcourt, the 10-second count would start as soon as the ball had backcourt status.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
count the run? jggilliam Softball 7 Sat Oct 06, 2007 10:00pm
does the run count? ggk Baseball 6 Fri Sep 15, 2006 05:00am
Do you count the run? UMP25 Baseball 68 Wed May 17, 2006 02:05pm
"L" 5 sec. count Bart Tyson Basketball 27 Fri Feb 20, 2004 01:24am
run count or not? chasbo Softball 10 Thu Feb 19, 2004 09:55am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:54pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1