![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
Just to reinforce: Situation: R1 and R3. Wild pitch with balk call. R1 takes second and rounds thinking about stealing third. R1 notices that R3 had a brain fart and is still standing on third. R1 is then thrown out going back to second. In this situation, because R3 never advanced a base, the balk is enforced. The ball is dead, R3 is awarded home and R1 is awarded second. Everyone is safe. OR Because it is a wild pitch, the Approved Ruling section kicks in and: Ball is dead, R3 is awarded home and because R1 had advanced past his awarded base the out stands. Which result is correct?? Last edited by tibear; Fri Feb 02, 2007 at 11:33am. |
|
|||
Quote:
In your first scenario, you started with R1, correct? If there is a balk, R1 is Protected only to second base. If R1 goes beyond second, he is on his own. Now, if you explain it that way to a coach, he will understand you. More importantly, if you remember it that way, you will apply the rule correctly in any situation! Simply remember where the runner started and how far he is protected. The rest is academic.
__________________
When in doubt, bang 'em out! Ozzy |
|
|||
Quote:
What about the second situation that I presented with R1 and R3?? If I was to take a stab using the original situation as a basis: R3 is awarded home and R1 is out because he proceed past his awarded base. Last edited by tibear; Fri Feb 02, 2007 at 12:02pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Balk/Illegal Pitch??? | BoBo | Softball | 33 | Mon Apr 24, 2006 12:57pm |
IP goes wild (ISF) | rayskie | Softball | 4 | Sat Aug 21, 2004 08:51am |
Balk with a pitch | aepitaz | Baseball | 2 | Tue Jun 08, 2004 06:43am |
BALK OR ILLEGAL PITCH | barisadlertx | Baseball | 15 | Fri Mar 07, 2003 02:04pm |
Balk or Illegal Pitch | abergman | Baseball | 27 | Wed Jun 06, 2001 11:04am |