The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 20, 2005, 05:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 301
This is probably a HTBT, but here is what i have.

R1 - Right handed pitcher.

Pitcher in stretch comes to the set position. Looks toward the base runner, (head turn only). Lifts his Pivot foot, straight up in the air as High as he can, (like a lefty pitcher would do with his free foot before deciding home or first base) then steps off and quickly spins to see what runner is doing.

Now I balked this, I said and still believe this particular fact, the pitcher did this action for the sole purpose of decieving the runner. I also believed at the split second, but am waivering now that the move is {"mimicing"} a motion naturally associated with a pitch.

Has anyone else ever seen this, is it a balk? What are your thoughts??
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 20, 2005, 06:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Winchester, VA
Posts: 458
Not many pitchers begin their motion by lifting their PIVOT foot.
Was there any other rule you thought this violated?
O/W, I'm having a hard time seeing a balk.
Don't care that he "did it to decieve...": that ain't illegal, much less a balk.
Just 'cause it's ugly doesn't make it a balk.
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 20, 2005, 07:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 768
I'm OK with the balk call here. It's sort of akin to the pitcher who legally disengages but raises his hands in a windup-simulation to achieve a similar kind of deception.
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 20, 2005, 10:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
I dunno: from the description, the only thing he did was step off in a weird way. If nothing else was moving and simulating the start of a pitch, if ALL he did was lift his pivot foot up high in the process of stepping off, then I don't see a balk.

The rules don't say how a pitcher has to step off. Deception per se is not against the rules. Only illegal deception is, so I'd have to hear what else he did that was illegal before I'd think there was a balk here.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 20, 2005, 10:21pm
DG DG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 4,022
I have never seen this one before, but I am pretty sure I would not balk it. He stepped off, it was just a high step.
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 21, 2005, 02:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 508
Quote:
Originally posted by Dave Hensley
I'm OK with the balk call here. It's sort of akin to the pitcher who legally disengages but raises his hands in a windup-simulation to achieve a similar kind of deception.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ ~~~~~~
Pivot foot comes up and backwards, correct?? He can pick his nose, do whatever, I see this as disengagement of rubber, everyone else should also. When I played, we always watched the feet of F1, if that right heel lifted, pick-off was coming
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun May 22, 2005, 12:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: NeverNeverLand
Posts: 1,025
Quote:
Originally posted by Dave Hensley
I'm OK with the balk call here. It's sort of akin to the pitcher who legally disengages but raises his hands in a windup-simulation to achieve a similar kind of deception.

I'm with you here Dave. Same sitch today during playoffs. Pitcher seemed confused and lifted PIVOT foot but brought his hands up to simulate pitch, I balked him. No complaint from Dcoach.
__________________
"A picture is worth a thousand words".
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun May 22, 2005, 01:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 555
The description in 8.01 (b) says the pitcher may "...step backward off the pitchers plate with his pivot foot."

Bringing the pivot foot up is NOT stepping backward off the pitchers plate. Additionally, since the pivot foot has now disengaged, you could argue that he is making a motion naturally associated with his pitch.

In any event, it seems like a balk to me.
__________________
Well I am certainly wiser than this man. It is only too likely that neither of us has any knowledge to boast of; but he thinks that he knows something which he does not know, whereas I am quite conscious of my ignorance. At any rate it seems that I am wiser than he is to this small extent, that I do not think that I know what I do not know. ~Socrates
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sun May 22, 2005, 01:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 555
Has a pitcher do that very thing the other day. Balk!

Quote:
Originally posted by Dave Hensley
I'm OK with the balk call here. It's sort of akin to the pitcher who legally disengages but raises his hands in a windup-simulation to achieve a similar kind of deception.
__________________
Well I am certainly wiser than this man. It is only too likely that neither of us has any knowledge to boast of; but he thinks that he knows something which he does not know, whereas I am quite conscious of my ignorance. At any rate it seems that I am wiser than he is to this small extent, that I do not think that I know what I do not know. ~Socrates
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 23, 2005, 01:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 111
Quote:
Originally posted by Kaliix
The description in 8.01 (b) says the pitcher may "...step backward off the pitchers plate with his pivot foot."

Bringing the pivot foot up is NOT stepping backward off the pitchers plate. Additionally, since the pivot foot has now disengaged, you could argue that he is making a motion naturally associated with his pitch.

In any event, it seems like a balk to me.

I see some grey area here and we also have some varying opinions, so I'm going to play devil's advocate..

The pivot foot must be lifted up (direction) before it goes back (direction), else how would a pitcher get his/her foot out of the hole in front of the rubber to the area behind the rubber?

So... to what degree of lifting the pivot foot do you allow before moving the foot back? 1 inch? 1 foot? Does speed of the disengagement factor in?
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 23, 2005, 04:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 169
Send a message via Yahoo to TBBlue
Quote:
Originally posted by 3appleshigh
This is probably a HTBT, but here is what i have.

R1 - Right handed pitcher.

Pitcher in stretch comes to the set position. Looks toward the base runner, (head turn only). Lifts his Pivot foot, straight up in the air as High as he can, (like a lefty pitcher would do with his free foot before deciding home or first base) then steps off and quickly spins to see what runner is doing.

Now I balked this, I said and still believe this particular fact, the pitcher did this action for the sole purpose of decieving the runner. I also believed at the split second, but am waivering now that the move is {"mimicing"} a motion naturally associated with a pitch.

Has anyone else ever seen this, is it a balk? What are your thoughts??
When you say lifts pivot foot "like a lefty pitcher would do" are you saying the pivot foot went towards 3b? If so, that is not a step back, balk.
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 24, 2005, 02:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 301
lift

no the lift was straight up, knee to chest almost then back off the ound, I'm still arguing with myself on this one. Not sure what I'd do where I to see it again.
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 24, 2005, 03:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Little Elm, TX (NW Dallas)
Posts: 4,047
If you don't know what rule he violated, how can you call it a balk? Sounds like a nothing to me.
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 24, 2005, 05:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Winchester, VA
Posts: 458
Quote:
Originally posted by mcrowder
If you don't know what rule he violated, how can you call it a balk? Sounds like a nothing to me.
A wise man once told me: if you can't describe how/why F1 balked, USING THE WORDS OF THE ACTUAL RULE, you are probably better off not calling it, 'cause it probably was NOT a balk.
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 24, 2005, 05:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 813
Quote:
Originally posted by Dave Hensley
I'm OK with the balk call here. It's sort of akin to the pitcher who legally disengages but raises his hands in a windup-simulation to achieve a similar kind of deception.
This pitcher has done nothing illegal except telegraph that he must step backward with his pivot foot (which I assume he eventually did). It sounds amongst the worst pickoff moves ever made. Are we now to put parameters on how high or how low his pivot foot must rise in order to step backward off the rubber?

This is not the same as making a motion associated with his pitch---whether on or off the rubber.
A pitcher does not raise his pivot foot from the set position to make a pitch.

If a runner is deceived by such a LEGAL but terrible move, then he deserves to be out and his basecoach banished from the team.

NOW.......if the pitcher picks up his pivot foot and simultaneously spins to the base on his nonpivot foot, then it's a simple balk to call.

Sometimes ugly is merely ugly........but ugly doesn't mean it's illegal.......


Just my opinion,

Freix

Closed Thread

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:20pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1