The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 29, 2017, 04:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
Error?

It's been almost a decade, but I have returned to ask a question generated by the recent game-ending uncaught third strike in the Dodgers-Angels game.

No outs. Called strike 3 on the batter gets away from F2 and rolls a few feet into foul territory. The batter runs toward 1B, while F2 chases the ball down. F2 has plenty of time to get the BR but throws wide to 1B, drawing F3 off the bag, and the BR makes it to 1B safely.

I know that an error is not charged on a passed ball (or wild pitch), but would you charge F2 with a throwing error in this case?
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 29, 2017, 04:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 255
I would think:
Passed ball allows BR to 1 and R2 to 3
Error allows R2 to score
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 29, 2017, 05:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
Thanks for responding, robbie. You interpreted the actual Dodgers-Angels situation, and that might well be the call. I don't know how they scored it. But take a look in the abstract at the situation I described. Would you charge an error on F2, or would you go by the letter of the book, which says that no error shall be charged on a wild pitch or passed ball? Or is it a passed ball at all if F2 had time to make a play? I'm now thinking it has to be an error.
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!

Last edited by greymule; Thu Jun 29, 2017 at 05:08pm.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 29, 2017, 06:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 255
Quote:
Originally Posted by greymule View Post
Thanks for responding, robbie. You interpreted the actual Dodgers-Angels situation, and that might well be the call. I don't know how they scored it. But take a look in the abstract at the situation I described. Would you charge an error on F2, or would you go by the letter of the book, which says that no error shall be charged on a wild pitch or passed ball? Or is it a passed ball at all if F2 had time to make a play? I'm now thinking it has to be an error.
I would say its just the way the words read with punctuation etc.

If there is a WP or PB, that "play" (or advancement) will not be scored as an error. It will be a WP or PB. However, it does not state that an error cannot occur on a continuance of action.

Perhaps a good analogy:
R1 steal attempt. Throw goes into center field. Regardless of how close it may have been at second, it is a steal (not an error) that accounts for R1 going to 2.
Now, if the throw also enables R1 to go to 3, it is scored a steal and an error.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 29, 2017, 07:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 255
The official scoring according to Baseball Reference:

"Strikeout Swinging, Passed Ball;Revere Scores / Adv on E2 (throw) / unER /No RBI; Maybin to 1B"
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 29, 2017, 07:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
That makes sense. Strike 3 got away from F2, but the batter (for some reason) stayed in the box. R2 took 3B on the passed ball. However, F2 recovered the ball with time enough to throw to 1B to get the BR, but the throw was wild and went over F3. That error allowed R2 to score and the BR to advance meaninglessly to 1B. So F2 gets a PB and an E. Thanks.
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!

Last edited by greymule; Thu Jun 29, 2017 at 07:14pm.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Shot clock error- correctable error? mutantducky Basketball 11 Mon Mar 16, 2015 11:35am
Is NFHS Case Book Play 2.10.1 Sit. G(d) (re: corr. error situation) really an error? rpirtle Basketball 3 Wed Dec 24, 2008 03:25pm
AP error lukealex Basketball 4 Sat Dec 10, 2005 08:49am
Player Error or Referee Error??? BK Basketball 21 Fri Jan 16, 2004 01:04pm
BRD error Carl Childress Baseball 2 Mon Jan 28, 2002 07:14pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:12am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1