Thread: Error?
View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 29, 2017, 04:12pm
greymule greymule is offline
Official Forum Member
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100

It's been almost a decade, but I have returned to ask a question generated by the recent game-ending uncaught third strike in the Dodgers-Angels game.

No outs. Called strike 3 on the batter gets away from F2 and rolls a few feet into foul territory. The batter runs toward 1B, while F2 chases the ball down. F2 has plenty of time to get the BR but throws wide to 1B, drawing F3 off the bag, and the BR makes it to 1B safely.

I know that an error is not charged on a passed ball (or wild pitch), but would you charge F2 with a throwing error in this case?
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
Reply With Quote