The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 13, 2004, 11:16pm
BK BK is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 95
Send a message via Yahoo to BK
Tonight, I call a 1-1 foul from Lead. I go out to report, my partner is in place and I turn around to see the FT. He already has things ready to go and he bounces the ball to the shooter. I look into the lane as the ball is going up, and see a member of the shooting team in the lowest spot.

I know that it was my parnter's responsibility to get the bottom two spots in the lane filled with opponenets of the shooter, but when he fails to do that, what is the procedure? Is it still a violation? I know it's not correctable...I called a lane violation. Eeek!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 13, 2004, 11:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,614
Double violation.

AP arrow.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 14, 2004, 12:13am
BK BK is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 95
Send a message via Yahoo to BK
Well, add that to the list of rules that need to be changed...how can the rules penalize B for being where they are supposed to be...A2 KNOWS she can't be on the block when her teammate is the shooter.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 14, 2004, 12:24am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 271
The reason its a double violation is thar as you say A2 KNOWS she can't be in the block if her teammate is the shooter and B is supposed to KNOW they are required to fill the block.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 14, 2004, 12:43am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,614
Wink

Quote:
Originally posted by BK
Well, add that to the list of rules that need to be changed...how can the rules penalize B for being where they are supposed to be...A2 KNOWS she can't be on the block when her teammate is the shooter.
So I guess you didn't call a double violation?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 14, 2004, 07:48am
BK BK is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 95
Send a message via Yahoo to BK
See original post...last sentence!

This will be a topic of discussion at our next meeting!!!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 14, 2004, 10:25am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 406
If your partner had properly waited for you to get into your position (opposite table), you would have had a look at the lanes (even though it's HIS responsibility) and probably noticed the wrong player before the administration. Sloppiness lead to the double lane violation. Even if everyone was lined up properly, he did not give you a chance to be in proper position had the foul shot missed and become live (and you never got to count your 10 seconds!). I'd say it's time for a little chat, first question is: "Do you have a date, or something?" Slow down, what's the big rush?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 14, 2004, 11:58am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,614
Quote:
Originally posted by BK
See original post...last sentence!

This will be a topic of discussion at our next meeting!!!
Oooooo! Touchy, aren't we?

It's just discussion, partner.

Note the and the that says how fun-lovin' I am.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 14, 2004, 12:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 8
If it's a double violation do you go to the possession arrow to continue the game?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 14, 2004, 12:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 233
Quote:
Originally posted by rocky50
If it's a double violation do you go to the possession arrow to continue the game?
Bktballref answered that: "Double violation. AP arrow."
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 15, 2004, 01:35am
BK BK is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 95
Send a message via Yahoo to BK
Quote:
Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:
Originally posted by BK
See original post...last sentence!

This will be a topic of discussion at our next meeting!!!
Oooooo! Touchy, aren't we?

It's just discussion, partner.

Note the and the that says how fun-lovin' I am.
Didn't mean it as a punt in your direction... Sorry it came across that way BBR...thanks for the ruling...even though tis stinky!!! Seems like a copout for the rules committee to say that NOBOBY has the responsibility to be there, but that they are REQUIRED to be there. Seems like an area that we are babysitting instead of officiating. If the non-shooting team is dumb enough to not fill the space, maybe the D should be allowed in that spot!!!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 15, 2004, 12:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 179
Wink

the key word here is "she" If you are not on your toes when doing a girls game you will get burnt. After doing many girls games, I now realize why the girls season begins before the boys. They use the girls to get us warmed up and more knowledgeable of the rules.

Sorry Rainmaker do not take this personally.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 15, 2004, 12:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,614
Wink

Quote:
Originally posted by BK
Seems like an area that we are babysitting instead of officiating.
Can you say "shirt tails?" Talk about babysitting!

It should be like football, where the coach gets a flag if we find a player who isn't properly equipped.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 15, 2004, 04:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Posts: 2,217
No harm, no violation

Made shot, since partner had a part in this error, you can choose to see it after the shot was made and then there is no double violation, the thought being that the error did not impact the play in any way, so why call it.

If the shot is missed, you have to call a double violation since it does impact the play, so the whistle goes as the ball comes off the rim if you want to follow this logic.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 15, 2004, 05:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Re: No harm, no violation

Quote:
Originally posted by Hawks Coach
Made shot, since partner had a part in this error, you can choose to see it after the shot was made and then there is no double violation, the thought being that the error did not impact the play in any way, so why call it.

If the shot is missed, you have to call a double violation since it does impact the play, so the whistle goes as the ball comes off the rim if you want to follow this logic.
This is the correct answer.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:41pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1