The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 09, 2005, 11:02am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Columbia, MD
Posts: 298
Send a message via AIM to lukealex
Saw this in a game last night, jump ball, arrow to blue. By mistake white trys to inbound the ball but they catch it immediately and give the ball to blue.

What would the procedure be if white inbounded the ball? Many things could happen, they score, foul on white or blue, turnover, etc. What should be done?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 09, 2005, 11:14am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,322
Quote:
Originally posted by lukealex
Saw this in a game last night, jump ball, arrow to blue. By mistake white trys to inbound the ball but they catch it immediately and give the ball to blue.

What would the procedure be if white inbounded the ball? Many things could happen, they score, foul on white or blue, turnover, etc. What should be done?
Until the throw-in ends, stop it and correct the error.

Once the throw-in ends, it's too late to correct. Give blue two of the next three.

Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 09, 2005, 11:19am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 2,910
Quote:
Originally posted by lukealex
Saw this in a game last night, jump ball, arrow to blue. By mistake white trys to inbound the ball but they catch it immediately and give the ball to blue.

What would the procedure be if white inbounded the ball? Many things could happen, they score, foul on white or blue, turnover, etc. What should be done?
Notice it before the ball is inbounded like those officials did.

By rule, once the ball is inbounded it's too late to fix it. There is a specific case play on this.

I'll get flamed for this, but I'm a strong believer that officials should do everything they can to avoid letting a major administration mistake like this screw up game for the players. If it happened in my game and I could catch it real quick after the ball was inbounded (and before a score or foul occurred), I'd blow it dead and give it to the right team.

Z
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 09, 2005, 11:25am
M.A.S.H.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,026
I know I'm probably wrong (), but I was under the thought for some reason that once the ball was made live (at the disposal of the player for throw-in) it was technically too late.

But, of course, correcting it at this point is certainly no big deal if you can catch it before it's inbounded.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 10, 2005, 08:49am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,712
Case book play 6.4.1 Sit D.

Personally, I'd follow the rule as written.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:07pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1