![]() |
|
|||
Traveling?
A1 dribbles down the court and picks up the ball at the left elbow of the lane. B1 is guarding A1 whose pivot is his right foot. A1 takes a step and a half with his left foot and shoots it. I call traveling. Player and coach go crazy and say that isn't the rule. First off in my mind he just switched his pivot. Also, in part b of the rule below it says that if the player jumps, neither foot may be returned to the floor.
Rule 4 - Section VIII and Rule 10 - Section XIV 3. After coming to a stop and establishing a pivot foot: a. The pivot foot may be lifted, but not returned to the floor, before the ball is released on a pass or try for goal; b. If the player jumps, neither foot may be returned to the floor before the ball is released on a pass or attempt for goal; c. The pivot foot may not be lifted, before the ball is released, to start a dribble. |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
I just can't get traveling right! | ChuckElias | Basketball | 14 | Wed Feb 09, 2005 12:29pm |
traveling or not | stewcall | Basketball | 5 | Sat Feb 05, 2005 08:27pm |
traveling? | ctpfive | Basketball | 15 | Sun Jan 30, 2005 03:20pm |
traveling or what? | kkopfman | Basketball | 9 | Thu Jan 13, 2005 03:40pm |
Traveling | OG719 | Basketball | 8 | Tue Mar 09, 2004 01:20am |