Thread: Traveling?
View Single Post
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 04, 2008, 01:21pm
jdw3018 jdw3018 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,896
Quote:
Originally Posted by hopsy24 View Post
First off, I'm sorry for not being clear in the first post.

A1 established his pivot as the right foot. Then A1 stepped with his left foot, lifting his pivot, and then jumped off the left then shot it in the air. His pivot foot left the floor not to shoot, but to take a step. Part B of the rule says, "b. If the player jumps, neither foot may be returned to the floor before the ball is released on a pass or attempt for goal;" I interpret this that A1 is jumping off his pivot foot, not any foot. His right foot is the pivot foot, therefore A1 must jump off either the pivot foot or both feet at the same time to shoot or pass the ball before either foot touches the floor in those situations.
Thanks for the clarification.

This is not a travel. A player can lift his pivot foot and just stand on the other foot. He can jump off that foot. But he can't put his pivot foot back down, and once he jumps, neither foot may touch the ground.
Reply With Quote