Thread: Traveling?
View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 04, 2008, 12:17pm
hopsy24 hopsy24 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 3
Traveling?

A1 dribbles down the court and picks up the ball at the left elbow of the lane. B1 is guarding A1 whose pivot is his right foot. A1 takes a step and a half with his left foot and shoots it. I call traveling. Player and coach go crazy and say that isn't the rule. First off in my mind he just switched his pivot. Also, in part b of the rule below it says that if the player jumps, neither foot may be returned to the floor.

Rule 4 - Section VIII and Rule 10 - Section XIV

3. After coming to a stop and establishing a pivot foot:
a. The pivot foot may be lifted, but not returned to the floor, before the ball is released on a pass or try for goal;
b. If the player jumps, neither foot may be returned to the floor before the ball is released on a pass or attempt for goal;
c. The pivot foot may not be lifted, before the ball is released, to start a dribble.
Reply With Quote