The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Traveling? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/50162-traveling.html)

hopsy24 Thu Dec 04, 2008 12:17pm

Traveling?
 
A1 dribbles down the court and picks up the ball at the left elbow of the lane. B1 is guarding A1 whose pivot is his right foot. A1 takes a step and a half with his left foot and shoots it. I call traveling. Player and coach go crazy and say that isn't the rule. First off in my mind he just switched his pivot. Also, in part b of the rule below it says that if the player jumps, neither foot may be returned to the floor.

Rule 4 - Section VIII and Rule 10 - Section XIV

3. After coming to a stop and establishing a pivot foot:
a. The pivot foot may be lifted, but not returned to the floor, before the ball is released on a pass or try for goal;
b. If the player jumps, neither foot may be returned to the floor before the ball is released on a pass or attempt for goal;
c. The pivot foot may not be lifted, before the ball is released, to start a dribble.

fiasco Thu Dec 04, 2008 12:23pm

How did he switch his pivot foot?

Camron Rust Thu Dec 04, 2008 12:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by hopsy24 (Post 555380)
A1 dribbles down the court and picks up the ball at the left elbow of the lane. B1 is guarding A1 whose pivot is his right foot. A1 takes a step and a half with his left foot and shoots it. I call traveling. Player and coach go crazy and say that isn't the rule. First off in my mind he just switched his pivot. Also, in part b of the rule below it says that if the player jumps, neither foot may be returned to the floor.

Rule 4 - Section VIII and Rule 10 - Section XIV

3. After coming to a stop and establishing a pivot foot:
a. The pivot foot may be lifted, but not returned to the floor, before the ball is released on a pass or try for goal;
b. If the player jumps, neither foot may be returned to the floor before the ball is released on a pass or attempt for goal;
c. The pivot foot may not be lifted, before the ball is released, to start a dribble.

Coach was right....if i understand you correctly....

A1 pivoting with his right foot on the floor. A1 pivots steping on his left foot towards the basket, lifts his right foot (and probably sweeps it through towards the basket), jumps off his left foot, and shoots.

Legal.

The pivot foot is not "switched" (i.e., it is not a travel) until the original pivot foot is both lifted and returned to the floor.

fiasco Thu Dec 04, 2008 12:25pm

You can take as many steps as you want with your non-pivot foot, provided your pivot foot doesn't lift in the process.

You kicked this one, but I'm sure you'll remember this play for the future.

ma_ref Thu Dec 04, 2008 12:26pm

I think I'm confused by what you mean when you say he takes a "step and a half".

You said the pivot foot was his right. He ended up taking a shot, so the only question you need to ask is whether he lifted his right foot and returned it to the ground. Merely lifting it doesn't constitute a travel violation. But returning it does.

Hartsy Thu Dec 04, 2008 12:27pm

Sounds to me like the pivot foot was lifted but not returned to the floor before the try. No violation. I am unclear on what a step and half is, using only the left foot.

Scrapper1 Thu Dec 04, 2008 12:28pm

First, welcome to the forum. You'll pick up a lot of good info here.

Second, I can't really picture what happened from your description, so I can't give a good answer about whether he traveled.

Third, it would be a good start for you to get away from thinking about "a step and a half" or "two steps" when you call traveling. Simply find the pivot, which you did, and then remember what he can do with that pivot. He can lift the pivot to pass or attempt a try, as long as the ball is released before it returns to the ground. If he's moving (jumping or running), he can also jump off that pivot foot and then land on both feet together, but then he has no pivot. (Technically, he never had a pivot foot, but you know what I mean.) He can still jump to shoot or pass in that situation.

hopsy24 Thu Dec 04, 2008 01:18pm

First off, I'm sorry for not being clear in the first post.

A1 established his pivot as the right foot. Then A1 stepped with his left foot, lifting his pivot, and then jumped off the left then shot it in the air. His pivot foot left the floor not to shoot, but to take a step. Part B of the rule says, "b. If the player jumps, neither foot may be returned to the floor before the ball is released on a pass or attempt for goal;" I interpret this that A1 is jumping off his pivot foot, not any foot. His right foot is the pivot foot, therefore A1 must jump off either the pivot foot or both feet at the same time to shoot or pass the ball before either foot touches the floor in those situations.

jdw3018 Thu Dec 04, 2008 01:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by hopsy24 (Post 555400)
First off, I'm sorry for not being clear in the first post.

A1 established his pivot as the right foot. Then A1 stepped with his left foot, lifting his pivot, and then jumped off the left then shot it in the air. His pivot foot left the floor not to shoot, but to take a step. Part B of the rule says, "b. If the player jumps, neither foot may be returned to the floor before the ball is released on a pass or attempt for goal;" I interpret this that A1 is jumping off his pivot foot, not any foot. His right foot is the pivot foot, therefore A1 must jump off either the pivot foot or both feet at the same time to shoot or pass the ball before either foot touches the floor in those situations.

Thanks for the clarification.

This is not a travel. A player can lift his pivot foot and just stand on the other foot. He can jump off that foot. But he can't put his pivot foot back down, and once he jumps, neither foot may touch the ground.

Johnny Ringo Thu Dec 04, 2008 01:24pm

Can someone give an aexample of this situation:

If he's moving (jumping or running), he can also jump off that pivot foot and then land on both feet together, but then he has no pivot. (Technically, he never had a pivot foot, but you know what I mean.)

hopsy24 Thu Dec 04, 2008 01:40pm

Thanks for the quick responses.

When I used to play during High School and College that was called a travel. It was also called during the NCAA tournament last year by (I think) someone on Temple.
Is that how the rule was always interpreted or did it change over the years at some point?

jdw3018 Thu Dec 04, 2008 01:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo (Post 555403)
Can someone give an aexample of this situation:

If he's moving (jumping or running), he can also jump off that pivot foot and then land on both feet together, but then he has no pivot. (Technically, he never had a pivot foot, but you know what I mean.)

All of what you said is correct. If dribbling, a player can pick up the ball, jump off his left foot, and then land simultaneously on both feet.

It's a jump stop.

jdw3018 Thu Dec 04, 2008 01:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by hopsy24 (Post 555406)
Thanks for the quick responses.

When I used to play during High School and College that was called a travel. It was also called during the NCAA tournament last year by (I think) someone on Temple.
Is that how the rule was always interpreted or did it change over the years at some point?

It hasn't always been called that way, but many officials have mistakenly called it because it can sometimes "look funny."

And I doubt it was called in the NCAA tournament last season - at least not purposefully. If an NCAA official called it, he likely saw something else...

Johnny Ringo Thu Dec 04, 2008 01:44pm

From the play you just said - after jump stopping ... no pivot is allowed, correct?

jdw3018 Thu Dec 04, 2008 01:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo (Post 555410)
From the play you just said - after jump stopping ... no pivot is allowed, correct?

Correct. At that point the player can pass or shoot. The player is allowed to jump.

If the player caught the ball on a pass and executed the same jump stop, he'd also be able to dribble.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:35pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1