Quote:
Originally Posted by hopsy24
A1 dribbles down the court and picks up the ball at the left elbow of the lane. B1 is guarding A1 whose pivot is his right foot. A1 takes a step and a half with his left foot and shoots it. I call traveling. Player and coach go crazy and say that isn't the rule. First off in my mind he just switched his pivot. Also, in part b of the rule below it says that if the player jumps, neither foot may be returned to the floor.
Rule 4 - Section VIII and Rule 10 - Section XIV
3. After coming to a stop and establishing a pivot foot:
a. The pivot foot may be lifted, but not returned to the floor, before the ball is released on a pass or try for goal;
b. If the player jumps, neither foot may be returned to the floor before the ball is released on a pass or attempt for goal;
c. The pivot foot may not be lifted, before the ball is released, to start a dribble.
|
Coach was right....if i understand you correctly....
A1 pivoting with his right foot on the floor. A1 pivots steping on his left foot towards the basket, lifts his right foot (and probably sweeps it through towards the basket), jumps off his left foot, and shoots.
Legal.
The pivot foot is not "switched" (i.e., it is not a travel) until the original pivot foot is both lifted and returned to the floor.