The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Volleyball

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 2 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Sep 15, 2012, 12:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 173
Quote:
Originally Posted by MCBear View Post
Ya gotta know your rules, guys!

Per Rule 8-1-6:
The way I read 8-1-6 is that it applies to a reserve and not an original turn of service.

The rules I feel apply are 6-4-6 "A request for the teams serving order may be made by that teams coach or captain while the ball is dead." and 9-3-1 "A live ball is in play from the moment is legally contacted by the correct server until a dead ball occurs". Since the ball was dead when the lineup check was requested, as it was requested before contact by the server, shouldn't this request be allowed ?? I agree that common sense would figure it should not, but I cannot find a rule stating such.
__________________
I'm due to make a great call. After all, I've been officiating a long time !!!
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Disagreement with partner last night on rule Mark Padgett Basketball 13 Fri Jan 21, 2011 09:55am
Partner learns lesson last night Mark Padgett Basketball 5 Wed Feb 11, 2009 01:50pm
Partner whistled all night long Back In The Saddle Basketball 18 Fri Dec 03, 2004 01:10am
Crazy Night - Rookie Partner SF Softball 18 Tue Jul 13, 2004 10:47pm
Disagreement with partner! Dennis Nicely Basketball 3 Fri Dec 10, 1999 03:39pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:09am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1