![]() |
|
|
|||
The way I read 8-1-6 is that it applies to a reserve and not an original turn of service.
The rules I feel apply are 6-4-6 "A request for the teams serving order may be made by that teams coach or captain while the ball is dead." and 9-3-1 "A live ball is in play from the moment is legally contacted by the correct server until a dead ball occurs". Since the ball was dead when the lineup check was requested, as it was requested before contact by the server, shouldn't this request be allowed ?? I agree that common sense would figure it should not, but I cannot find a rule stating such.
__________________
I'm due to make a great call. After all, I've been officiating a long time !!! |
|
|||
Quote:
10.1.2 SITUATION: During a set, the coach requests a substitution: (a) before the first referee signals for the serve; (b) after the first referee signals for the serve, but before the server’s contact with the ball; (c) after contact has been made with the serve. RULING: (a) legal, substitution permitted, (b) and (c) coach’s request is ignored and play continues. Last edited by bbsbvb83; Sat Sep 15, 2012 at 02:02pm. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Disagreement with partner last night on rule | Mark Padgett | Basketball | 13 | Fri Jan 21, 2011 09:55am |
Partner learns lesson last night | Mark Padgett | Basketball | 5 | Wed Feb 11, 2009 01:50pm |
Partner whistled all night long | Back In The Saddle | Basketball | 18 | Fri Dec 03, 2004 01:10am |
Crazy Night - Rookie Partner | SF | Softball | 18 | Tue Jul 13, 2004 10:47pm |
Disagreement with partner! | Dennis Nicely | Basketball | 3 | Fri Dec 10, 1999 03:39pm |