The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Volleyball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 14, 2006, 03:10pm
Resident VB Rules Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: San Jose, CA - the Capital of Silicon Valley
Posts: 481
Send a message via AIM to MCBear Send a message via MSN to MCBear Send a message via Yahoo to MCBear Send a message via Skype™ to MCBear
#12 is true as you surmised. The umpire is notified as soon as an illegal libero replacement is noticed by the libero tracker - hopefully this happens as soon as the two players exchange places and before the referee beckons for the serve. We want the AS (LT) to notify us immediately so that we have it caught in the same dead ball where it occurs.

#81 is false. The coach is allowed to stand during a dead ball to coach his/her athletes. Agreed, they are only allowed to be in the libero replacement zone, but the way the question reads, it is not a cardable offense just to be standing during a dead ball while coaching his/her athletes on the court. Remember not to read more than is in the question into it.
__________________
Jan G. Filip - San Jose, CA
EBVOA Rules Interpreter Emeritus
NCS Volleyball Officials Coordinating Committee Recorder
CIF State Volleyball State Championships Referee (2005), Scorekeeper (2006-2007) & Libero Tracker (2010)
PAVO State Referee (2014) / PAVO Certified Scorekeeper (2014) / PAVO Certified Line Judge (2012)
USAV Junior National Referee (resigned 2013) / USAV National Scorekeeper (2014)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 14, 2006, 06:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: So. Wisconsin
Posts: 302
Thanks for the confirmation MCBear! Did you follow or get to DCI Finals here in Wisconsin this past weekend? Illinois did well Saturday....Cavaliers won the "ship" with Phantom taking second! I could not believe their hornline this year....I believe they took high bugle execution caption Sat. nite. "Ava Maria" knocks your socks off!
__________________
"All our calls are good calls...."
"...Some of them are better than others!"
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 15, 2006, 08:01am
Resident VB Rules Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: San Jose, CA - the Capital of Silicon Valley
Posts: 481
Send a message via AIM to MCBear Send a message via MSN to MCBear Send a message via Yahoo to MCBear Send a message via Skype™ to MCBear
Nope, I wasn't able to catch any corps shows this summer. The two main ones in my area are sponsored by Santa Clara Vanguard and Concord Blue Devils. This year, I was refereeing volleyball on both weekends when the shows were held - The California Finals in Sacramento during one weekend and JO's in Atlanta on the other.

Dang, Phantom is the bridesmaid again! Nothing against the Cavies, you know, but now that they have won it several times, it would be nice to see Phantom take home the championship. SUTA!

If you haven't heard Phantom's renditions of "Amazing Grace" and "Elsa's Procession to the Cathedral", you haven't heard their hornline at its very best!
__________________
Jan G. Filip - San Jose, CA
EBVOA Rules Interpreter Emeritus
NCS Volleyball Officials Coordinating Committee Recorder
CIF State Volleyball State Championships Referee (2005), Scorekeeper (2006-2007) & Libero Tracker (2010)
PAVO State Referee (2014) / PAVO Certified Scorekeeper (2014) / PAVO Certified Line Judge (2012)
USAV Junior National Referee (resigned 2013) / USAV National Scorekeeper (2014)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 15, 2006, 08:42am
Resident VB Rules Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: San Jose, CA - the Capital of Silicon Valley
Posts: 481
Send a message via AIM to MCBear Send a message via MSN to MCBear Send a message via Yahoo to MCBear Send a message via Skype™ to MCBear
Oh, boy...Rose Bowl!

The DCI finals next year will be in the Rose Bowl. I know that it will be a fantastic week in Pasadena! Hopefully, I can schedule it so that I can take my wife there to attend semi's and finals on August 6th & 7th.
__________________
Jan G. Filip - San Jose, CA
EBVOA Rules Interpreter Emeritus
NCS Volleyball Officials Coordinating Committee Recorder
CIF State Volleyball State Championships Referee (2005), Scorekeeper (2006-2007) & Libero Tracker (2010)
PAVO State Referee (2014) / PAVO Certified Scorekeeper (2014) / PAVO Certified Line Judge (2012)
USAV Junior National Referee (resigned 2013) / USAV National Scorekeeper (2014)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 18, 2006, 11:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: So. Wisconsin
Posts: 302
Need your help again....MCBear

#24 - I believe is FALSE. 6.3.3 (b)..... the statement doesn't mention if CF's other foot is closer to the centerline than CB. What say you?

#34 - I feel this is also a FALSE statement because the libero is classified a "back row player", and as such, cannot set the ball using overhand finger action while on or in front of the attack line. 9.5.6 (b)

#42 - is FALSE as well. 9.5.1 (c)(1) defines "block attempt" as action without touching the ball and does not constitute a foul by a "back row player" when there was no contact with the ball.

Your interpretations MC?
__________________
"All our calls are good calls...."
"...Some of them are better than others!"
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Aug 19, 2006, 01:52am
Resident VB Rules Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: San Jose, CA - the Capital of Silicon Valley
Posts: 481
Send a message via AIM to MCBear Send a message via MSN to MCBear Send a message via Yahoo to MCBear Send a message via Skype™ to MCBear
Here you go...

#24 is False - we don't reference the endline when we are judging overlapping, only the sidelines and centerline.

#34 is True - you fell into the trap that NFHS set this year in the Preseason Guide and the PowerPoint slide. The libero can finger set a ball from anywhere on the court, however, to be legal, the next contact must be from below the top of the net. In the scenario, the libero in the front zone, set the ball while it was below the height of the net and it crossed the net. Result - no foul, legal play.

#42 is False - since no contact was made, there was no back-row block.

Not my interpretations, but those of NFHS.
__________________
Jan G. Filip - San Jose, CA
EBVOA Rules Interpreter Emeritus
NCS Volleyball Officials Coordinating Committee Recorder
CIF State Volleyball State Championships Referee (2005), Scorekeeper (2006-2007) & Libero Tracker (2010)
PAVO State Referee (2014) / PAVO Certified Scorekeeper (2014) / PAVO Certified Line Judge (2012)
USAV Junior National Referee (resigned 2013) / USAV National Scorekeeper (2014)
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sat Aug 19, 2006, 10:09am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: So. Wisconsin
Posts: 302
Thanks again MC.....Appreciate your help.....have a GREAT season!

wl
__________________
"All our calls are good calls...."
"...Some of them are better than others!"
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NFHS Part 1Test Questions HELP! BBallfanatic Basketball 3 Wed Nov 09, 2005 02:56pm
Test questions, part 1 ChuckElias Basketball 12 Fri Sep 02, 2005 05:37am
Part 1 and Part 2 NFHS tests WindyCityBlue Baseball 28 Mon Nov 22, 2004 02:49pm
Questions on Part I Exam lawref Football 7 Wed Aug 20, 2003 03:24pm
NFHS Part I Test Questions Mark Dexter Basketball 10 Sun Jan 27, 2002 03:47pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:59pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1