View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 14, 2006, 03:10pm
MCBear MCBear is offline
Resident VB Rules Guru
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: San Jose, CA - the Capital of Silicon Valley
Posts: 481
Send a message via AIM to MCBear Send a message via MSN to MCBear Send a message via Yahoo to MCBear Send a message via Skype™ to MCBear
#12 is true as you surmised. The umpire is notified as soon as an illegal libero replacement is noticed by the libero tracker - hopefully this happens as soon as the two players exchange places and before the referee beckons for the serve. We want the AS (LT) to notify us immediately so that we have it caught in the same dead ball where it occurs.

#81 is false. The coach is allowed to stand during a dead ball to coach his/her athletes. Agreed, they are only allowed to be in the libero replacement zone, but the way the question reads, it is not a cardable offense just to be standing during a dead ball while coaching his/her athletes on the court. Remember not to read more than is in the question into it.
Jan G. Filip - San Jose, CA
EBVOA Rules Interpreter Emeritus
NCS Volleyball Officials Coordinating Committee Recorder
CIF State Volleyball State Championships Referee (2005), Scorekeeper (2006-2007) & Libero Tracker (2010)
PAVO State Referee (2014) / PAVO Certified Scorekeeper (2014) / PAVO Certified Line Judge (2012)
USAV Junior National Referee (resigned 2013) / USAV National Scorekeeper (2014)
Reply With Quote