The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Volleyball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 25, 2019, 12:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Janesville, WI
Posts: 761
Send a message via ICQ to FMadera Send a message via AIM to FMadera Send a message via Yahoo to FMadera
Quote:
Originally Posted by genetoy71 View Post
But what about Net Play, NFHS Rule 9.6.3 - "A player shall not contact a ball which is completely on the opponent's side of the net unless the contact is a legal block"?
This action is right after a legal block. It's a fine line. If there's a player trying to cover and it interferes with that attempt, then interference is a valid decision.

If there's no one around and you call something because it was blocked into a foot, well, that's a really tough sell.
__________________
Felix A. Madera
USAV Indoor National / Beach Zonal Referee
FIVB Qualified International Scorer
PAVO National Referee / Certified Line Judge/Scorer
WIAA/IHSA Volleyball Referee
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 25, 2019, 12:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,185
Quote:
Originally Posted by FMadera View Post
This action is right after a legal block. It's a fine line. If there's a player trying to cover and it interferes with that attempt, then interference is a valid decision.

If there's no one around and you call something because it was blocked into a foot, well, that's a really tough sell.
So if it bounces back up in the air, B can play it?

(This is all part of the discussion we had -- the definition of interference in rule 9-xxx (sorry, no books), along with the lack of "over the net" in the "contacts the ball on the other side of the net" rule, etc.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 25, 2019, 12:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Janesville, WI
Posts: 761
Send a message via ICQ to FMadera Send a message via AIM to FMadera Send a message via Yahoo to FMadera
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
So if it bounces back up in the air, B can play it?

(This is all part of the discussion we had -- the definition of interference in rule 9-xxx (sorry, no books), along with the lack of "over the net" in the "contacts the ball on the other side of the net" rule, etc.
No, it's a dead ball. Then you determine if interference occurred.
__________________
Felix A. Madera
USAV Indoor National / Beach Zonal Referee
FIVB Qualified International Scorer
PAVO National Referee / Certified Line Judge/Scorer
WIAA/IHSA Volleyball Referee
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 25, 2019, 01:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,185
Quote:
Originally Posted by FMadera View Post
No, it's a dead ball. Then you determine if interference occurred.

So -- if it's interference (B was attempting to, and had a reasonable chance to, play the ball), regardless of intent, B's point.

If it's not interference, regardless of intent, A's point.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 25, 2019, 02:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
So -- if it's interference (B was attempting to, and had a reasonable chance to, play the ball), regardless of intent, B's point.

If it's not interference, regardless of intent, A's point.
Not if playing NFHS rules and you apply Rule 9.6.3 as it is written.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 25, 2019, 12:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
So if it bounces back up in the air, B can play it?

(This is all part of the discussion we had -- the definition of interference in rule 9-xxx (sorry, no books), along with the lack of "over the net" in the "contacts the ball on the other side of the net" rule, etc.
I don't see interference as the root issue. It is illegal to touch a ball that has completely crossed the vertical plane of the net unless the contact is a legal block. The action as described in the original post is definitely not a legal block. The language in the rule book seems pretty clear to me. I don't know why a player would have their foot in the air completely on the opponent's side and make contact with the ball but this contact is a violation and should be called, regardless of intent or interference. I don't see it as that tough of a "sell" at all.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 25, 2019, 01:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Janesville, WI
Posts: 761
Send a message via ICQ to FMadera Send a message via AIM to FMadera Send a message via Yahoo to FMadera
Quote:
Originally Posted by genetoy71 View Post
I don't see interference as the root issue. It is illegal to touch a ball that has completely crossed the vertical plane of the net unless the contact is a legal block. The action as described in the original post is definitely not a legal block. The language in the rule book seems pretty clear to me. I don't know why a player would have their foot in the air completely on the opponent's side and make contact with the ball but this contact is a violation and should be called, regardless of intent or interference. I don't see it as that tough of a "sell" at all.
Happens quite a bit in the men's game.
__________________
Felix A. Madera
USAV Indoor National / Beach Zonal Referee
FIVB Qualified International Scorer
PAVO National Referee / Certified Line Judge/Scorer
WIAA/IHSA Volleyball Referee
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 25, 2019, 04:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Janesville, WI
Posts: 761
Send a message via ICQ to FMadera Send a message via AIM to FMadera Send a message via Yahoo to FMadera
Quote:
Originally Posted by genetoy71 View Post
I don't see interference as the root issue. It is illegal to touch a ball that has completely crossed the vertical plane of the net unless the contact is a legal block. The action as described in the original post is definitely not a legal block. The language in the rule book seems pretty clear to me. I don't know why a player would have their foot in the air completely on the opponent's side and make contact with the ball but this contact is a violation and should be called, regardless of intent or interference. I don't see it as that tough of a "sell" at all.
You've quoted the rule for which we are determining reaching over the net. Are you advocating using that signal for something under the net?
__________________
Felix A. Madera
USAV Indoor National / Beach Zonal Referee
FIVB Qualified International Scorer
PAVO National Referee / Certified Line Judge/Scorer
WIAA/IHSA Volleyball Referee
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 26, 2019, 11:24am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by FMadera View Post
You've quoted the rule for which we are determining reaching over the net. Are you advocating using that signal for something under the net?
Section 9.6 deals with Net Play generally and not Over the Net specifically. Rule 9.6.3 covers contacting a ball that is completely on the opponent's side and doesn't contain a reference as to the height of the ball. I believe the correct sequence would be whistle, award point to Team B, Signal 6 (Net Fault) against Team A. Team A coach may not like the call but Team B coach is certainly not going to like it if you do not call it.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 26, 2019, 12:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Janesville, WI
Posts: 761
Send a message via ICQ to FMadera Send a message via AIM to FMadera Send a message via Yahoo to FMadera
Quote:
Originally Posted by genetoy71 View Post
Section 9.6 deals with Net Play generally and not Over the Net specifically. Rule 9.6.3 covers contacting a ball that is completely on the opponent's side and doesn't contain a reference as to the height of the ball. I believe the correct sequence would be whistle, award point to Team B, Signal 6 (Net Fault) against Team A. Team A coach may not like the call but Team B coach is certainly not going to like it if you do not call it.
You would not signal net fault for something on the opponent's side of the net. You would signal reaching over, which is another reason you can't cite this rule in the original situation.

But hey, in your match, you do whatever you want.
__________________
Felix A. Madera
USAV Indoor National / Beach Zonal Referee
FIVB Qualified International Scorer
PAVO National Referee / Certified Line Judge/Scorer
WIAA/IHSA Volleyball Referee
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 26, 2019, 12:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,241
Quote:
Originally Posted by FMadera View Post
You would not signal net fault for something on the opponent's side of the net. You would signal reaching over, which is another reason you can't cite this rule in the original situation.

But hey, in your match, you do whatever you want.
The correct signal in this case would be "reaching over".

That signal, as stated in the officials manual (2016-2017) is to be used when

* A player illegally contacts a ball which is completely on the opponents side of the net
* Contacts an opponent over the top of the net.


So yes, even though the contact occurred below the net, the ball was still illegally contacted on the opponents side of the net. The correct signal is "over the net". I would then expect have an explanation as to what was witnessed for the captain who is very likely to question the call.

Last edited by chapmaja; Thu Oct 03, 2019 at 09:47pm.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Reaching in and over the back wbrown Basketball 10 Thu Jan 22, 2009 03:21pm
Reaching for a T Chess Ref Basketball 15 Fri Dec 21, 2007 06:53am
OTB and Reaching KCRef Basketball 15 Wed Mar 28, 2007 06:27pm
11.1 REACHING BEYOND THE NET - for '05-'06 OmniSpiker Volleyball 3 Thu Aug 03, 2006 11:51am
"Over the back and Reaching in" stmaryrams Basketball 2 Wed Mar 02, 2005 10:39pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:44am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1