The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Volleyball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 28, 2006, 09:07am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 96
11.1 REACHING BEYOND THE NET - for '05-'06

11.1 REACHING BEYOND THE NET
11.1.1 In blocking, a blocker may touch the ball beyond
the net, provided that he/she does not interfere with
the opponents’ play before or during the latter’s
attack hit.
11.1.2 After an attack hit, a player is permitted to pass his/her
hand beyond the net, provided that the contact has been
made within his/her own playing space.
USAV 11.1.2: A player is not permitted to pass hand(s)
beyond the net inside the antennas and contact the ball
over the opponent’s court.

******

Okay so in application of the USAV rule.

What is the application of the rule to the definition of ‘follow through on a hit’:
11.1.2 After an attack hit, a player is permitted to pass his/her hand beyond the net, provided that the contact has been made within his/her own playing space

Say if it means the same thing then:
USAV 11.1.2: A player is not permitted to pass hand(s) beyond the net inside the antennas and contact the ball over the opponent’s court.

Says that there’s nothing wrong with your hand following through after your attack which contact was made on your side. While now the follow through contact is made while above the opponent's court.
Is this a rule infraction?

To really must know the quirk about this rule is that, while an attacker’s hand is still there over their opponent’s court, then all the opponent has to do is push a ball into the attacker’s hand to get a rule infraction. LOL’s but if you turn it around and say that the roles have been switched the moment the defender is pushing the ball and directing it back at the other side of the net, ha, ha, ha, then the hand on the follow through is now immediately blocking. So going back to this rule:
11.1.1 In blocking, a blocker may touch the ball beyond the net, provided that he/she does not interfere with the opponents’ play before or during the latter’s attack hit.

How say if the ball was blocked right back into the attacker?
1. into the attacker’s hand that’s over the opponent’s court
2. into the attacker on the attacker’s side of the court
2a. Would that be treated as a block?
2b. If not a block, would that be treated as one of the team’s three contact.
2c. Or the contact is invalid and ball is out of play?


Not sure if this has been discussed in the past, but usually the ball has grounded and we just went with the most obvious, but if it should be fielded and is still in rally?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 02, 2006, 06:07am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 1
It is really??
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 02, 2006, 04:51pm
Resident VB Rules Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: San Jose, CA - the Capital of Silicon Valley
Posts: 481
Send a message via AIM to MCBear Send a message via MSN to MCBear Send a message via Yahoo to MCBear Send a message via Skype™ to MCBear
Quote:
How say if the ball was blocked right back into the attacker?
1. into the attacker’s hand that’s over the opponent’s court
2. into the attacker on the attacker’s side of the court
2a. Would that be treated as a block?
2b. If not a block, would that be treated as one of the team’s three contact.
2c. Or the contact is invalid and ball is out of play?
1. Contact with the attacker is considered as a block since the player's hand is above the top of the net - play on!
2. Same thing - considered to be a block with three hits remaining.
2a. Absolutely.
2b. Nope, see 2 and 2a.
2c. There is no such thing as an invalid contact - it is either play on because we have a legal contact or a loss of rally because we have a fault.
__________________
Jan G. Filip - San Jose, CA
EBVOA Rules Interpreter Emeritus
NCS Volleyball Officials Coordinating Committee Recorder
CIF State Volleyball State Championships Referee (2005), Scorekeeper (2006-2007) & Libero Tracker (2010)
PAVO State Referee (2014) / PAVO Certified Scorekeeper (2014) / PAVO Certified Line Judge (2012)
USAV Junior National Referee (resigned 2013) / USAV National Scorekeeper (2014)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 03, 2006, 11:51am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 96
In conjecture it's pretty much blocking the block or as is.

hmmm, that gives me an idea about hitting and blocking the block altogether.

Thanks all, I just wanted to re-affirm that I wasn't thinking about it wrong.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"Reaching" Sitch--Whatcha got? mplagrow Basketball 60 Fri Feb 24, 2006 09:52pm
"Over the back and Reaching in" stmaryrams Basketball 2 Wed Mar 02, 2005 10:39pm
Were these Blues Reaching or What? whiskers_ump Softball 18 Fri Aug 15, 2003 12:19pm
Partner reaching Adam Basketball 11 Mon Mar 10, 2003 11:14am
Reaching base Coach&Blue Baseball 9 Mon Jul 15, 2002 10:46am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:31am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1