The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Track & Field

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 21, 2018, 11:03am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 459
Question re: exchange zone disqualification

Not even sure if anyone will read this based on the mileage on this board but here goes:

What is the rule on contact between runners from other teams within exchange zones? Specifically, the following situation.

4x800 relay, state meet. Runner A2 hands to A3. A2 then stops in lane 1. B2 hands to B3 who then collides with A2 in lane 1 following the exchange. B3 is clearly put at a disadvantage because of the collision. Is there a rule justification for a dq here? I quickly perused the NFHS book, but I'm not handy enough with it to find anything that would back that up.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 21, 2018, 08:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 591
The rule you want is 5-10-8
After passing the baton, the relieved competitor should stand still or jog straight ahead and step off the track when cleared.

If there is any possibility that somebody behind him might be trying to move to his inside, I give the runner the benefit of the doubt for standing in lane 1 instead of stepping off the track. If he tries to step off the track (i.e. he's not standing still or jogging straight ahead) and interferes, he's liable for the contact.

On the other hand, if he was standing in the left side of the lane with no possibility of being passed on the inside and he did not step off, that could be judged as interference.

Last edited by Altor; Mon May 21, 2018 at 08:32pm.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 22, 2018, 09:09am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 459
Quote:
Originally Posted by Altor View Post
The rule you want is 5-10-8
After passing the baton, the relieved competitor should stand still or jog straight ahead and step off the track when cleared.

If there is any possibility that somebody behind him might be trying to move to his inside, I give the runner the benefit of the doubt for standing in lane 1 instead of stepping off the track. If he tries to step off the track (i.e. he's not standing still or jogging straight ahead) and interferes, he's liable for the contact.

On the other hand, if he was standing in the left side of the lane with no possibility of being passed on the inside and he did not step off, that could be judged as interference.
This is what happened. I am going to try to find the video just for S&G's to see what those who are much more wise in this arena think.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
T to C Exchange Indication Freddy Basketball 34 Sun Jun 21, 2015 04:10pm
Another end zone rationale question voiceoflg Football 3 Mon Nov 16, 2009 01:17pm
Neutral Zone question schmitty1973 Football 12 Mon Mar 27, 2006 02:09pm
Heated exchange Nevadaref Basketball 5 Sun Mar 12, 2006 06:14pm
Missed exchange MI Official Football 14 Fri Sep 24, 2004 01:54pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:13pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1