![]() |
|
|
|||
We had our state interpreter check w/ Federation office. This is what he sent me after hearing back from them:
"Hi Ted. Finally heard back from Federation. If a team goes short handed due to an injury and that player later in the game can return, it is legal for them to reenter the game in the same batting spot."
__________________
Ted USA & NFHS Softball |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() The rules never prohibit the player from returning regardless of the reason. Shorthanded should be elaborated in NFHS, as I have said before. Also, no wording whether the re-entry rule applies. ![]() BUT, re-entry applies to the blood rule. ![]() So, by this interpretation, a player can leave the lineup, return later. Then a second player can leave and return and so on. YUK!
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
|
|||
Well, there's sort of a rule that I stated before:
Article 5 Any player, starter or substitute may be withdrawn from the game and re-entered once, provided such player occupies the same batting position whenever in the lineup.
__________________
Ted USA & NFHS Softball |
|
|||
So if in a NFHS game a player leaves and returns, and no sub takes her place (short hand rule is applied) has this player used her reentry?
Which now makes me wonder, if the player leaves the game and team goes short handed then she returns while on defense and catches a fly ball can the other team claim she is an unreported sub because her reentry was not reported? ![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
![]()
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
|
|||
No.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
|
|||
Quote:
Rule 3-3 Art 8 d. Once a team has gone short-handed and another eligible player is available, that player may fill the empty space in the lineup. I've had this conversation with our interpreter as well. He thinks an available sub must be put in. The way the rule is written, that does not appear to be the case. The coach, for whatever reason, could decide to leave an eligible sub on the bench.
__________________
Ted USA & NFHS Softball Last edited by Tru_in_Blu; Mon Mar 02, 2015 at 09:15pm. Reason: sp |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Ted USA & NFHS Softball |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Question about NCAA Playing Rules and the SEC. | Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. | Football | 3 | Wed Jul 16, 2014 07:16pm |
ASA SP shorthanded question | dnank | Softball | 5 | Thu Jun 28, 2007 12:08pm |
Playing shorthanded | Duke | Softball | 3 | Tue Mar 23, 2004 09:59am |
ASA Slow Pitch Shorthanded Rule...Question | Tsmokie | Softball | 7 | Fri Jun 21, 2002 09:39pm |
Playing shorthanded with DP/DEFO | Dakota | Softball | 2 | Fri Oct 12, 2001 12:04pm |