View Single Post
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 20, 2015, 12:42pm
Tru_in_Blu Tru_in_Blu is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Fremont, NH
Posts: 1,385
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne View Post
Blood rule when treatment required is separate from the shorthanded rule, re-entry is allowed. Try 3-3-10.
I'll take that as your opinion, as I interpret these entities differently.

Article 5 Any player, starter or substitute may be withdrawn from the game and re-entered once, provided such player occupies the same batting position whenever in the lineup.

So, unless this player's withdrawal brings the team to less than 8, the game continues. The rule doesn't say this "withdrawal" requires a substitute. (Although if one were available, I'd guess it would make sense to utilize said sub.)

The bottom of your 3-3-10 states: The re-entry rule would apply to players take out of the game for this rule. (I.E. blood rule)

A few years ago, rightly or wrongly, I did allow an offensive player who had become injured to leave the game. The team started the game w/ 9. They played for 2 innings with 8 on defense. When the girl's spot in the order came up, she had recovered enough to play again. I let her bat, and she finished the game playing defense the rest of the way.

Was that wrong? (For NFHS)
__________________
Ted
USA & NFHS Softball
Reply With Quote