Quote:
Originally Posted by Tru_in_Blu
Umpire says he must have at least 8 players in the batting order.
Coach says he still has 8 players in the batting order (see definition of batting order).
Umpire says all defensive players except the catcher must be positioned in fair territory.
Coach says that if the exception was OK for the 9th player in his batting order (i.e. the first injured player), by extension is has to be OK for the 8th player in his batting order, the player injured in the top of the 7th.
I THINK I know that the visitors cannot continue with only 7 in the field. It's not come up for me in any HS games I've worked. ASA wording is clearer than NFHS.
What is the definitive rule or passage that prohibits the team from playing 7 on defense?
|
As far as I am concerned, you cited the proper rule. The exception is exactly what it says it is; the 9th player is an out, and the 9th player (only) then does not play defense. Thank you for wanting to apply that to another player, too, Coach, but no, the rule doesn't say that; thank you for playing "Let's make up a rule to suit our situation". The 8th player must play defense, or you have an illegal pitch every time the pitcher let's go of the ball without that required player in fair territory. That could happen for two pitches; then 4-3-e makes it a forfeit for willfully and persistently violating a rule after being warned by the umpire. Personally, I'm not letting a coach make that mockery.
The only thing that could make it a bigger mockery is for you to allow it to continue, and the opposing team then intentionally walk batters to get to the position that is then vacant due to the second injury. Actually, if I were the opposing coach and you let them play, I wouldn't waste 4 pitches; I would hit each batter on the first pitch to get there. Make the necessary ruling, and stand by it; let them contact the state association and be laughed at.
Poorly worded, the requirement should be to present 8 players on both offense and defense, but is still means what it means.
To your other question, NFHS rules do not state it is a forfeit to play shorthanded as a result of an ejection. Accordingly, we cannot apply the ASA ruling absent a state adoption.