The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 19, 2015, 01:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 81
NFHS Short-Handed Situation

To the question: "A related, but separate question: If a player leaves the game due to injury, can she return to the game later, perhaps even after having had an out called in her batting order position?", Theresia Wynns at NFHS says that a player cannot come back in if she has gone out because of injury and the team had to play short-handed. However, if a team member shows up to the game and has not been in the game already, then she could take the injured player's spot in the line-up and the team could finish with nine.
__________________
Don't be afraid to try new things.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 20, 2015, 09:11am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Think "batting order" as "lineup" without FLEX.
The rules were written before FLEX, so the logic is the same with "batting order" meaning all in game except the FLEX.
NOTE: The FLEX can not play defense for an injured player, except the DP.

I believe that is true for both ASA & NFHS, probably USSSA & PONY.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 20, 2015, 10:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Fremont, NH
Posts: 1,388
Quote:
Originally Posted by varefump View Post
To the question: "A related, but separate question: If a player leaves the game due to injury, can she return to the game later, perhaps even after having had an out called in her batting order position?", Theresia Wynns at NFHS says that a player cannot come back in if she has gone out because of injury and the team had to play short-handed. However, if a team member shows up to the game and has not been in the game already, then she could take the injured player's spot in the line-up and the team could finish with nine.
I think the blood rule is an exception. Does your source provide a rule reference? Is there a case play I may have missed?

Thanx.
__________________
Ted
USA & NFHS Softball
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 20, 2015, 12:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tru_in_Blu View Post
I think the blood rule is an exception. Does your source provide a rule reference? Is there a case play I may have missed?

Thanx.
Blood rule when treatment required is separate from the shorthanded rule, re-entry is allowed. Try 3-3-10.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 20, 2015, 12:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Fremont, NH
Posts: 1,388
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne View Post
Blood rule when treatment required is separate from the shorthanded rule, re-entry is allowed. Try 3-3-10.
I'll take that as your opinion, as I interpret these entities differently.

Article 5 Any player, starter or substitute may be withdrawn from the game and re-entered once, provided such player occupies the same batting position whenever in the lineup.

So, unless this player's withdrawal brings the team to less than 8, the game continues. The rule doesn't say this "withdrawal" requires a substitute. (Although if one were available, I'd guess it would make sense to utilize said sub.)

The bottom of your 3-3-10 states: The re-entry rule would apply to players take out of the game for this rule. (I.E. blood rule)

A few years ago, rightly or wrongly, I did allow an offensive player who had become injured to leave the game. The team started the game w/ 9. They played for 2 innings with 8 on defense. When the girl's spot in the order came up, she had recovered enough to play again. I let her bat, and she finished the game playing defense the rest of the way.

Was that wrong? (For NFHS)
__________________
Ted
USA & NFHS Softball
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 02, 2015, 11:38am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Fremont, NH
Posts: 1,388
We had our state interpreter check w/ Federation office. This is what he sent me after hearing back from them:

"Hi Ted. Finally heard back from Federation. If a team goes short handed due to an injury and that player later in the game can return, it is legal for them to reenter the game in the same batting spot."
__________________
Ted
USA & NFHS Softball
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 02, 2015, 02:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tru_in_Blu View Post
We had our state interpreter check w/ Federation office. This is what he sent me after hearing back from them:

"Hi Ted. Finally heard back from Federation. If a team goes short handed due to an injury and that player later in the game can return, it is legal for them to reenter the game in the same batting spot."
I guess we have to give them credit for interpreting a non-existent rule.
The rules never prohibit the player from returning regardless of the reason.
Shorthanded should be elaborated in NFHS, as I have said before.

Also, no wording whether the re-entry rule applies.

BUT, re-entry applies to the blood rule.

So, by this interpretation, a player can leave the lineup, return later. Then a second player can leave and return and so on. YUK!
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 02, 2015, 03:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Fremont, NH
Posts: 1,388
Well, there's sort of a rule that I stated before:

Article 5 Any player, starter or substitute may be withdrawn from the game and re-entered once, provided such player occupies the same batting position whenever in the lineup.
__________________
Ted
USA & NFHS Softball
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question about NCAA Playing Rules and the SEC. Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Football 3 Wed Jul 16, 2014 07:16pm
ASA SP shorthanded question dnank Softball 5 Thu Jun 28, 2007 12:08pm
Playing shorthanded Duke Softball 3 Tue Mar 23, 2004 09:59am
ASA Slow Pitch Shorthanded Rule...Question Tsmokie Softball 7 Fri Jun 21, 2002 09:39pm
Playing shorthanded with DP/DEFO Dakota Softball 2 Fri Oct 12, 2001 12:04pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:52am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1