The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 17, 2014, 02:58pm
Moderator M-800
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crabby_Bob View Post
NFHS 3-4-2 says the infraction must be discovered before the next pitch, or, on a game ending play, before the infielders and/or umpires have left the diamond.
Only if the coach is trying to nullify the play made by the illegal sub. Even if detected later, an illegal sub is an illegal sub is an illegal sub. (Sometimes harder to PROVE later though!)
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 17, 2014, 03:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Crete, Nebraska
Posts: 731
Send a message via ICQ to shipwreck
MD, the more I read the rule the more I believe you can't have a BOO also. Rule book says penalty Art. 2a The proper batter is considered to have lost her turn at bat. Maybe I am reading something wrong. Dave
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 17, 2014, 04:42pm
Moderator M-800
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by shipwreck View Post
MD, the more I read the rule the more I believe you can't have a BOO also. Rule book says penalty Art. 2a The proper batter is considered to have lost her turn at bat. Maybe I am reading something wrong. Dave
The proper batter (B1) IS considered to have lost her turn at bat when Flex illegally subbed for her and was not caught.

Then, in the 4th inning, when B2 is up... B1 comes to the plate and bats out of order.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 17, 2014, 06:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Metro Atlanta
Posts: 859
Quote:
Originally Posted by MD Longhorn View Post
I think it is assumed that when one posts a question, the facts of the question are true. The OP of a thread shouldn't have to prove to others that his facts are correct. Given the facts laid out by the OP, we should answer the questions posted.
I interpreted this differently. Not that the OP has to prove to the message board the accuracy of the sitch, rather, in real time during the game, how do you really know/prove that there was an illegal substitute a half-inning or more later....

Furthermore, you can only go for the penalty of an illegal sub while she is illegally in the game. This means you have to catch it while she is on offense for a player other than the DP.
__________________
Tony
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 17, 2014, 07:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Crete, Nebraska
Posts: 731
Send a message via ICQ to shipwreck
If she batted or played defense she is currently in the game, regardless if she is sitting in the dugout, in the batters box, on base, or in the field. The flex was in the game. Dave
Reply With Quote
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 17, 2014, 07:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Crete, Nebraska
Posts: 731
Send a message via ICQ to shipwreck
Quote:
Originally Posted by MD Longhorn View Post
The proper batter (B1) IS considered to have lost her turn at bat when Flex illegally subbed for her and was not caught.

Then, in the 4th inning, when B2 is up... B1 comes to the plate and bats out of order.
MD, so in my scenario, if everything is appealed correctly, I would have Flex restricted for illegal substitution, B2 out for BOO since she should have batted, B1 removed from base, and B3 up to bat. Dave
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 18, 2014, 08:17am
Moderator M-800
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by shipwreck View Post
MD, so in my scenario, if everything is appealed correctly, I would have Flex restricted for illegal substitution, B2 out for BOO since she should have batted, B1 removed from base, and B3 up to bat. Dave
That's what I would have.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 18, 2014, 08:17am
Moderator M-800
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by tcannizzo View Post
Furthermore, you can only go for the penalty of an illegal sub while she is illegally in the game. This means you have to catch it while she is on offense for a player other than the DP.
For the penalty part where you nullify the play, yes.

The restriction part - no.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DP/Flex NFHS Rules BuggBob Softball 10 Tue May 18, 2010 08:41am
NFHS Rules Regarding Bats jacalla11 Softball 2 Mon Feb 15, 2010 09:07pm
FLEX bats #10 - NFHS v ASA Dakota Softball 15 Thu Aug 30, 2007 12:30am
flex bats cloverdale Softball 8 Wed May 02, 2007 02:49pm
NFHS, DP/FLEX Bandit Softball 7 Tue Aug 12, 2003 10:40am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:19pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1