The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 13, 2007, 11:42am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
FLEX bats #10 - NFHS v ASA

DP/FLEX on the lineup card. Top of an inning. No outs. DP is not batter #1 in the lineup (doesn't matter what batter she is - just not #1). Offense mistakely thinks the FLEX bats in the 10-spot. B1 is due up, but FLEX enters the batter's box and hits a single. B1 follows and hits a single, advancing R1 (FLEX) to 2B. B2 enters the batter's box. Defense requests TIME and protests that FLEX is illegal.

In NFHS, FLEX is out an restricted (illegal sub for B1), B1 is out and restricted (illegal sub for B2), and B2 is out and restricted (illegal sub for B3). B4 is due up their next half inning (assuming they still have enough players).

In ASA, FLEX is DQ'ed and can be replaced on base with an eligible sub. B1 is declared out and runner (FLEX's sub) returns. One out unless there are no subs available for FLEX. B2 is merely replaced at bat with B3.

So, for NFHS 3 outs, 3 players restricted to the bench.

For ASA, possibly only 1 out, 2 players DQ'ed. At most 2 outs if there are not elibible subs for FLEX.

Interesting.
__________________
Tom

Last edited by Dakota; Wed Aug 15, 2007 at 10:22am.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 13, 2007, 12:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 92
Send a message via AIM to pollywolly60
How about this?

NFHS - Flex is out and restricted (illegal sub for B1)

B1 batted out order (should have been B2.)

On appeal, B2 is out, B1's at bat is negated.

B3 is now proper batter with 2 outs.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 13, 2007, 01:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by pollywolly60
How about this?

NFHS - Flex is out and restricted (illegal sub for B1)

B1 batted out order (should have been B2.)....
The problem is that once B1 was illegally sub'ed for, she was out of the game. Hence, she is not IN the batting order, so she cannot bat OUT of order. She had to re-enter to get back into the batting order. She did not re-enter in her legal position in the batting order (runner for FLEX), but instead re-entered for B2. It was not BOO, it was an illegal re-entry.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 13, 2007, 01:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,801
I know WMB ststes consistently that NFHS is more benevolent and caring by catering to the youth player, but obviously not the case here.

The ASA version limits the damage for what is really one mistake that snowballs; and limits the result of the defense sitting by and letting it snowball. Whatever the defense fails to appeal becomes partially legalized. The NFHS version actually rewards the defense for either not knowing, or sitting in wait for the maximum damage.

After the first illegal sub/player, this is really nothing more than an unreported re-entry who batted in the wrong spot in the batting order; everything after that is the same as any batting out of order daisychain, where failing to appeal legalizes what previously happened. It shouldn't be three outs, three restrictions, and likely a forfeit.
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 13, 2007, 01:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Back in TX, formerly Seattle area
Posts: 1,279
Quote:
Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve
After the first illegal sub/player, this is really nothing more than an unreported re-entry who batted in the wrong spot in the batting order; everything after that is the same as any batting out of order daisychain, where failing to appeal legalizes what previously happened. It shouldn't be three outs, three restrictions, and likely a forfeit.

Or, if you are in WA at the 2004 Class B High School State Tournament:

*Out of order batter discovered eight batters later
*Team has scored seven runs in the inning
*Defense has not recorded an out

So what do the two brain surgeons, er, umpires, do? They get three outs and no runs score. No restrictions, no nothing. They just declare three outs and no runs score.

So what does the offending coach do? Nothing. Nothing at all.
__________________
John
An ucking fidiot
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 13, 2007, 02:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,559
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dakota

In NFHS, FLEX is out an restricted (illegal sub for B1), B1 is out and restricted (illegal sub for B2), and B2 is out and restricted (illegal sub for B3). B4 is due up their next half inning (assuming they still have enough players).
And that is absurd. B2 and B3 commited no violation. They batted after player listed as the legal batter prior to them in the batting order. Or should you expect them to say, "Oops, you're right, I'll send up the next batter instead so you can appeal the player batting out of order."

[/quote]
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 15, 2007, 10:22am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
I've edited my OP - I'd stated the ASA penalty incorrectly. See the blue text for where I made changes.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 15, 2007, 01:44pm
SRW SRW is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Seattle area
Posts: 1,342
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dakota
I've edited my OP - I'd stated the ASA penalty incorrectly. See the blue text for where I made changes.
Ok I'm confused (and that's not hard anymore)...

With the ASA interp:
I see where the unreported sub (FLEX in for B1) is DQ'd and replaced. (4.6.C.4)

But I don't see why you're declaring B1 out.

Who should be the next proper batter after the FLEX illegally bats? B2? Then don't you have BOO per 7.2.D.2 because B1 just batted for B2? B2 is out, remove B1 from 1B, return the FLEX's sub back to 1B and bring B3 up to bat...

Am I right? Or am I missing something? Or was the situation that just the issue with the FLEX was appealed and not the BOO?
__________________
We see with our eyes. Fans and parents see with their hearts.

Last edited by SRW; Thu Aug 16, 2007 at 08:55am.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 15, 2007, 01:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by SRW
But I don't see why you're declaring B1 out.

Who should be the next proper batter after the FLEX illegally bats? B2? Then don't you have BOO per 7.2.D.2 because B1 just batted for B2? B2 is out, remove B1 from 1B, return the FLEX's sub back to 1B and bring B3 up to bat...

Am I right? Or am I missing something? Or was the situation that just the issue with the FLEX was appealed and not the BOO?
What you're missing is that since FLEX illegally sub'ed for B1, B1 has left the game. B1 then re-entered (unreported, and illegally) for B2. Hence, both FLEX and B1 are illegal subs - FLEX for B1, and B1 for B2. Since the protest was made before a pitch was thrown to the next batter, B1 is declared out and DQ'ed and the runners return (ASA 4-6-C-3).
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 15, 2007, 02:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Upstate, SC
Posts: 440
I understand where you're going with this in respect to the literal application of all rules, but I think you're making a rather complicated case and draconian response to what is a rather simple case of in-attention to detail.
__________________
Just Tryin' to Learn...
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 15, 2007, 02:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by JefferMC
I understand where you're going with this in respect to the literal application of all rules, but I think you're making a rather complicated case and draconian response to what is a rather simple case of in-attention to detail.
It is not complicated at all. It is not unusual to come across coaches or players who treat the FLEX as a 10th batter. And from there, everything is following the rules.

A sub is a sub (legal or illegal), and somebody enters the game and somebody leaves the game. You can't have an illegal sub unless somebody entered and somebody left.

You can't have a player who is not IN the batting order bat OUT of order - she has to enter the game, first.

I actually agree in the NFHS case with the "draconian" label for the ruling. Just show me where it is wrong.

Not for ASA, though. The penalty is very reasonable for the circumstances.

The point in bringing it up (here and on the NFHS board) was to hopefully get an official interpretation that does NOT result in 3 outs and 3 players restricted to the bench (NFHS).
__________________
Tom

Last edited by Dakota; Wed Aug 15, 2007 at 03:51pm.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 15, 2007, 03:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Upstate, SC
Posts: 440
The penalty you're prescribing for ASA isn't draconian, but the NFHS one is.
__________________
Just Tryin' to Learn...
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 16, 2007, 08:53am
SRW SRW is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Seattle area
Posts: 1,342
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dakota
What you're missing is that since FLEX illegally sub'ed for B1, B1 has left the game. B1 then re-entered (unreported, and illegally) for B2. Hence, both FLEX and B1 are illegal subs - FLEX for B1, and B1 for B2. Since the protest was made before a pitch was thrown to the next batter, B1 is declared out and DQ'ed and the runners return (ASA 4-6-C-3).
You're right, that was what I was missing. That makes sense now. Thanks!
__________________
We see with our eyes. Fans and parents see with their hearts.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 17, 2007, 04:39am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Back in TX, formerly Seattle area
Posts: 1,279
Quote:
Originally Posted by SRW
You're right, that was what I was missing. That makes sense now. Thanks!
That's TWO things that make sense. Well, sorta. Kinda.
__________________
John
An ucking fidiot
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 30, 2007, 12:08am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Germantown, TN (east of Memphis)
Posts: 783
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dakota
It is not complicated at all. It is not unusual to come across coaches or players who treat the FLEX as a 10th batter. And from there, everything is following the rules...
I can't resist saying this: If the FLEX had been listed on the lineup card alongside the DP, then this would never have happened.

This is one of the points of the DP/FLEX rule that causes a tremendous amount of confusion, a pseudo 10th spot, that really doesn't exist.

Life would be much simpler if the two players, who can only bat in a particular spot in the order (i.e. the DP & FLEX), were actually listed in that spot.

* * *

The originator of the post made a point of saying that the DP did not bat in the #1 spot. Would it have really mattered if the DP actually was batting in the #1 spot?

David Emerling
Memphis, TN
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
flex bats cloverdale Softball 8 Wed May 02, 2007 02:49pm
NFHS DP/FLEX question Stat-Man Softball 3 Sat Apr 24, 2004 10:35am
FLEX Batting - NFHS WestMichBlue Softball 21 Mon Apr 19, 2004 12:33pm
NFHS DP/FLEX Rule whiskers_ump Softball 8 Sat Jan 17, 2004 10:10pm
NFHS, DP/FLEX Bandit Softball 7 Tue Aug 12, 2003 10:40am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:17am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1