The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 16, 2014, 06:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,241
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dakota View Post
That is illogical. Either the run scores (in which case the runner cannot be declared out), or the runner is declared out and the run does not score. A run cannot be scored by a runner who is out.
I worded it poorly. In the casebook play, the situation would be a timing player. The R2 is thrown out at 3rd base after advancing from second to third on a base on balls passing the base and being tagged out , however R1, who was on third had not yet scored. Since she was forced to advance on the base on balls, she is awarded home plate. The timing of R2 being thrown out, does not impact R1 scoring, since she was awarded home on a bases load base on balls.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 17, 2014, 07:21am
Stirrer of the Pot
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Lowcountry, SC
Posts: 2,380
Quote:
Originally Posted by MD Longhorn View Post
To my mind, ASA has this one right, where FED does not. But given that the OP was FED, the runner from 3rd is AWARDED home (chap posts one of the places that shows FED feels this way), and on an award the runner must be given the opportunity to fix baserunning mistakes.
Rule or case play cite, please.

I agree with you on a dead ball appeal. There are plenty of case plays where a runner is awarded a base (or bases) when the ball is batted/thrown into DBT, and the runner is allowed to fix a base running mistake until she advances to and touches the base beyond the one where the mistake was made.

But on a live ball appeal, where does it say this premise also holds true? I've never seen a case play that says that, and never heard of it until this discussion.

I repeat the play that I mentioned earlier that nobody has addressed:

Quote:
Say the batter-runner overruns first base on a walk, and misses the base in the process. If the defense appeals her miss by either tagging her or the base before she returns, is she not subject to an Out call? If not, why not? What rule protects her here? And if she is subject to an Out call, why wouldn't the same be true at any other base, including home?
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 17, 2014, 09:12am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manny A View Post
...There are plenty of case plays where a runner is awarded a base (or bases) when the ball is batted/thrown into DBT, and the runner is allowed to fix a base running mistake until she advances to and touches the base beyond the one where the mistake was made.

But on a live ball appeal, where does it say this premise also holds true? I've never seen a case play that says that, and never heard of it until this discussion...
That would be because this is the only instance where a base award happens during a live ball.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 17, 2014, 11:50am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,210
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dakota View Post
That would be because this is the only instance where a base award happens during a live ball.
This is not correct. Albeit, I've never seen the other case.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 17, 2014, 09:21am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manny A View Post
But on a live ball appeal, where does it say this premise also holds true? I've never seen a case play that says that, and never heard of it until this discussion.
Given that the situation we're discussing is the ONLY time we have an awarded base during a live ball, I'd ask you the converse. Where does it say to treat this case differently than the other? It doesn't.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 17, 2014, 09:38am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 648
Another element of the OP is that the runner "cuts in front of home" on her way to the 1B dugout, so she should never be considered to have touched (passed) the base.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 17, 2014, 10:28am
Stirrer of the Pot
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Lowcountry, SC
Posts: 2,380
Quote:
Originally Posted by MD Longhorn View Post
Given that the situation we're discussing is the ONLY time we have an awarded base during a live ball, I'd ask you the converse. Where does it say to treat this case differently than the other? It doesn't.
Ok, so the batter receives Ball Four, and the pitch gets away from the catcher. The BR rounds first on her way to second base and makes it safely. The defensive coach instructs his team to do a Live Ball appeal at first because the BR missed first base (which she did). F2 throws the ball to first base and it gets away from F3 and goes down the right field line.

Is the BR allowed to go back and touch first? Or is she no longer able to because she advanced and touched second?
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bases loaded walk... jmkupka Softball 32 Fri May 24, 2013 05:47pm
Bases Loaded Walk... mightymoose_22 Baseball 37 Wed Apr 04, 2007 11:05pm
Bases Loaded... mrm21711 Baseball 5 Mon May 29, 2006 05:09pm
Bases loaded appeal results Leecedar Softball 6 Sun Dec 05, 2004 06:41pm
Base on Balls Bases Loaded For the kids Softball 18 Wed Jun 30, 2004 09:44am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:40am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1