![]()  | 
	
		
		
  | 
|||
| 
		
	
		
		
			
			 
				
				Overthrow Clarification
			 
			
			
			ASA Rule 8-5-G: 
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
	
	“When the ball is live and becomes overthrown or is blocked: EFFECT: All runners shall be awarded two bases. The award shall be governed by the position of the runners when the ball left the fielder’s hand. Runners must return to touch a base missed or a base left too soon. When two runners are between the same two bases, the award is based off the position of the lead runner. Once a base runner advances to the next awarded base, the runner may no longer return to touch any based missed or any base left too soon. Exception: When a fielder loses possession of the ball and the ball leaves live ball territory: EFFECT: Each runner is awarded one base from the base last touched at the time the ball entered the dead ball area or became blocked. “ Can you fine folks clarify the underlined exception for me, including an example? ![]() The way I am reading this is that if a fielder has possession of the ball, but then drops it, and it rolls into dead ball territory, the base award will be 1 base from the moment it rolls into dead ball territory. In my limited experience (3 years) I haven't seen that happen, so I am just trying to prepare myself for our season starting in a few weeks.  
		 | 
| Bookmarks | 
		
  | 
	
		 | 
			 
			Similar Threads
		 | 
	||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post | 
| overthrow | Tru_in_Blu | Softball | 9 | Thu Mar 06, 2014 03:18pm | 
| overthrow | Bill Magley | Softball | 28 | Fri Oct 24, 2008 07:27am | 
| appeal after overthrow | _Bruno_ | Baseball | 50 | Thu Nov 15, 2007 11:26pm | 
| Overthrow | SRW | Softball | 7 | Mon Jul 04, 2005 08:36am | 
| ASA 10U Overthrow | sprivitor | Softball | 7 | Sun May 25, 2003 11:54pm |