The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 13, 2013, 06:04am
rj rj is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: connecticut
Posts: 52
Unhappy Illegal Pitch-Score?

Do they score? I was working the plate at a USSSA FP tournament yesterday. Runners on 2nd & 3rd, no outs when on a 1-1 count I put up the delayed dead-ball sign and declare "Illegal" on a pitch delivered to the plate. The batter hits the pitch, a slow roller to the pitcher, the pitcher picks-up the ball cleanly and looks back the runners at 2nd & 3rd but is late throwing the ball to 1st and the batter/runner is called safe at 1st.
Now, I know the rule for illegal pitch say:
-If the batter does not swing the pitch is declared a ball and the runners advance 1 base.
-If the batter reaches base safely and all runners advance at least one base, the play stands and the illegal pitch is cancelled.
-If the batter does not reach base safely, the coach of the offensive team has the option of taking the results of the play or accepting the effect for an illegal pitch.
But here's my question (I know you were wondering when I was going to get to it) if the runners advance one base on an illegal pitch, when the batter/runner reached 1st successfully but the runners did not advance on the play, do you still award the runners one base? So instead of them still being on 2nd & 3rd, they're now on 3rd & scored?
__________________
"when you make a mistake, don't loose the lesson"
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 13, 2013, 06:22am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 359
I can't speak to USSSA specifically as we don't have it here. But in ASA and NFHS you would still give the offense the choice of keeping the result of the play with bases loaded or taking the IP call advancing R1 to home, advancing R2 to 3B, and returning the batter to the plate with a 2 ball 1 strike count.

The option is not only if the batter fails to reach 1B safely, it applies after any IP in which the ball was put in play unless the batter reaches 1B and all other runners safely advance one base. In that case it's like the IP never happened.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 13, 2013, 08:31am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by rj View Post
Do they score? I was working the plate at a USSSA FP tournament yesterday. Runners on 2nd & 3rd, no outs when on a 1-1 count I put up the delayed dead-ball sign and declare "Illegal" on a pitch delivered to the plate. The batter hits the pitch, a slow roller to the pitcher, the pitcher picks-up the ball cleanly and looks back the runners at 2nd & 3rd but is late throwing the ball to 1st and the batter/runner is called safe at 1st.
Now, I know the rule for illegal pitch say:
-If the batter does not swing the pitch is declared a ball and the runners advance 1 base.
-If the batter reaches base safely and all runners advance at least one base, the play stands and the illegal pitch is cancelled.
-If the batter does not reach base safely, the coach of the offensive team has the option of taking the results of the play or accepting the effect for an illegal pitch.
But here's my question (I know you were wondering when I was going to get to it) if the runners advance one base on an illegal pitch, when the batter/runner reached 1st successfully but the runners did not advance on the play, do you still award the runners one base? So instead of them still being on 2nd & 3rd, they're now on 3rd & scored?
This is a known omission in the rules... what they want here is option 3, which should fully state, "if the batter does not reach base safely and all runners do not advance one base ... the coach....."
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 13, 2013, 08:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 727
Quote:
Originally Posted by UmpireErnie View Post
I can't speak to USSSA specifically as we don't have it here. But in ASA and NFHS you would still give the offense the choice of keeping the result of the play with bases loaded or taking the IP call advancing R1 to home, advancing R2 to 3B, and returning the batter to the plate with a 2 ball 1 strike count.

The option is not only if the batter fails to reach 1B safely, it applies after any IP in which the ball was put in play unless the batter reaches 1B and all other runners safely advance one base. In that case it's like the IP never happened.
Same outcome stated here would apply to USSSA as well.
__________________
"Not all heroes have time to pose for sculptors...some still have papers to grade."
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 13, 2013, 09:30am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 648
Similar but different-what's the mechanic?

Bases loaded, pitcher steps to the pitcher's plate, hands come together, hands separate and windup starts. Then she stops (maybe changes her mind, I dunno) and resets.
At this point, I stopped the play, called illegal pitch, ball on the batter & advanced runners.
Was I supposed to allow her to complete her 2nd attempt at the pitch, and wait to see the result of the play?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 13, 2013, 09:40am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,204
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmkupka View Post
Bases loaded, pitcher steps to the pitcher's plate, hands come together, hands separate and windup starts. Then she stops (maybe changes her mind, I dunno) and resets.
At this point, I stopped the play, called illegal pitch, ball on the batter & advanced runners.
Was I supposed to allow her to complete her 2nd attempt at the pitch, and wait to see the result of the play?
IIRC, in that situation, once the pitcher begins her pitch (hands come apart), then she stops, she has committed an illegal pitch for not releasing the pitch. This is a dead ball illegl pitch. At this point signal dead ball, and give the appropriate reward.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 13, 2013, 09:42am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmkupka View Post
Bases loaded, pitcher steps to the pitcher's plate, hands come together, hands separate and windup starts. Then she stops (maybe changes her mind, I dunno) and resets.
At this point, I stopped the play, called illegal pitch, ball on the batter & advanced runners.
Was I supposed to allow her to complete her 2nd attempt at the pitch, and wait to see the result of the play?
You wait on situations where the pitch was illegal but still happened - crow hops, leaps, 24", etc. You go ahead and stop it on a situation like you described.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pitch - Illegal or No Pitch? Duke Softball 13 Fri Jul 09, 2004 10:17am
When does an leegal pitch BECOME and illegal pitch. Illini_Ref Baseball 4 Fri Apr 23, 2004 02:06pm
Legal Pitch vs. Illegal Pitch ? Deion Softball 15 Mon Jun 30, 2003 04:24pm
illegal ball... illegal pitch? [email protected] Baseball 5 Thu Apr 17, 2003 06:57pm
Hit by pitch along with Illegal pitch Del-Blue Softball 10 Sun Mar 09, 2003 09:49pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:39am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1