The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 12, 2013, 04:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,822
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Ives View Post
B4 isn't out unless strike 3 is called.

It wasn't.

The UIC has the official count. No one else matters. You may be able to convince him he's wrong but if you can't - tough.

If they truly decided it should have been strike 3 it was umpire error, not the player's error. Don't punish the players.

And how could two teams and two sets of fans not notice and make a commotion?

And even so, if you want to get B4 for BOO then it's too late, the first pitch to the "improper" B4 legitimized it and B5 is now the proper batter. And he's up. Play on.

Denmark. Foul odor.
And if this were a baseball board, some of that might be accurate. One more case where this isn't the same game played by girls.

1) There is no UIC in a softball game. There is a PU, and (usually) one or more BU's. They each have designated responsibilities, but neither is in a secondary or lesser position.

2) The official count is what can be established as being the correct count. Only if it cannot be established is the PU's count the default result.

3) B4 is out when strike 3 happens; that is a rule. No matter how many people overlook or mistake it, it is an out.

4) All teams, coaches and players, are responsible to know the game situation. Slipping it past a mistaken umpire, who lost the count for a moment, isn't a free pass. It isn't punishing the players by enforcing the rules; it is the rule to enforce the rules.

5) Continuing to bat after being out is a player error; one condoned (by failing to correct) by the offensive coaches. They get what they get.

6) When B4 bats twice, the second at-bat isn't legitimized until a pitch to a SUCCEEDING batter. That didn't happen. First at-bat was legal; result was an out. Second at-bat is BOO; appealed before a next pitch, B5 is now out, and B6 is the next batter. Andy's answer is spot-on; in every softball rule set.
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF

Last edited by AtlUmpSteve; Fri Apr 12, 2013 at 04:48pm.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why do you umpire? Skahtboi Softball 18 Tue Oct 05, 2010 03:29pm
Don't be a good umpire be a great umpire vcblue Softball 5 Fri Jul 03, 2009 03:16pm
Intentional Grounding Blunder parepat Football 18 Wed Oct 24, 2007 05:11pm
Partner's HUUUUGE Blunder hooptown Basketball 30 Mon Jan 15, 2007 02:53pm
official blunder user2535 Baseball 8 Thu May 18, 2006 10:56am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:07am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1