View Single Post
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 12, 2013, 09:05pm
IRISHMAFIA IRISHMAFIA is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by varefump View Post
Actual situation that occured in a high school game this week.

One out, R2 on second. B4 with a count of 2-2, swings and misses. B4 remains at bat and fouls off the next pitch. Then B4 singles to the outfield scoring R2.

Defensive coach then comes out and asks the plate umpire why B4 was not out on strikes. Umps get together and rule that it was too late to appeal the mistake. They let the play stand.

Were the umpires correct?

My first thought is that B5 should have been the proper batter after B4 strikes out and therefore the defense could properly appeal batting out of order since a pitch has not been thrown since the improper batter (B4) has completed her turn at bat.
Correctable error. Put R1 back on 2nd, 2 outs, B5 is in the box.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote