![]() |
|
|||
A.R.15.3.5: The batter has a 3-1 count and although the next pitch is called a ball, no one acknowledges the base on balls. The next pitch
is a foul ball. 1) Before the next pitch, the offensive coach asks the plate umpire for the count and he acknowledges it is 4-2. Can the umpire correct the count and award the batter first base even though a pitch has been thrown after the mistake? 2) Following the foul ball, the next pitch is a called strike for strike three. The offensive coach immediately requests the plate umpire award the batter the base on balls she had previously earned, thus negating the strike out. 3) On the next pitch, the batter hits an out-of-the-park home run and the defensive coach immediately requests the plate umpire award the batter the base on balls she had previously earned, thus negating the home run? RULING: 1) Yes, as long as the batter has not completed her turn at bat, the umpire may correct the count. In this case, the batter would be awarded first base because the rules say when a batter receives a fourth ball, she is awarded first base without liability to be put out. Similarly, if a batter leaves the batter’s box headed for the dugout thinking she struck out (but has not) or heads to first base, thinking she walked (but has not), the umpire shall direct her back to the batter’s box to complete her turn at bat. 2,3) In both cases, because the batter completed her turn at bat, the window of opportunity to correct the count during her at bat no longer exists. The result of the play remains the action from the last delivered pitch…strikeout in the first case and home run in the second. Note- 15.2.14 and 15.9.3 do not apply as this is not a case of a delayed call or a reversed decision putting a player in undue jeopardy.
__________________
Kill the Clones. Let God sort them out. No one likes an OOJ (Over-officious jerk). Realistic officiating does the sport good. |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Why do you umpire? | Skahtboi | Softball | 18 | Tue Oct 05, 2010 03:29pm |
Don't be a good umpire be a great umpire | vcblue | Softball | 5 | Fri Jul 03, 2009 03:16pm |
Intentional Grounding Blunder | parepat | Football | 18 | Wed Oct 24, 2007 05:11pm |
Partner's HUUUUGE Blunder | hooptown | Basketball | 30 | Mon Jan 15, 2007 02:53pm |
official blunder | user2535 | Baseball | 8 | Thu May 18, 2006 10:56am |