The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 06, 2013, 02:03pm
Stirrer of the Pot
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Lowcountry, SC
Posts: 2,353
NFHS Examples of Batter Interference

I'm preparing a presentation to give a NFHS rules class next week. I'm responsible for covering Rule 7 on Batting.

Rather than the typical rules briefing that I've seen in many clinics, where the slides basically regurgitate the rules as written in the rule book, I'm providing examples of how the rules are applied. The one I'm struggling with is for 7-4-4 on batter interference.

The examples I've come up with so far are, but not sure if they really apply, are:
- She leans into a throw
- She moves out of the box and hinders the throw to a base
- She moves into the catcher and causes her to throw wild or abort the throw
- She hits the catcher with her follow-through swing
- She does not leave the batter’s box and hinders a play at the plate

Are any of these wrong? Are any others missing? Some I'm not sure of include when:
= she swings and her follow-through hits a loose ball (as opposed to hitting the catcher)
= she backs out of the box and kicks a loose ball as a runner from third tries to score
= she backs out of the box and falls over the catcher who is trying to pick up the loose ball as a runner from third tries to score
= she does vacate the box on a loose ball as a runner tries to score, and she still gets in the path of a throw back to the pitcher

Thanx in advance!
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 06, 2013, 04:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,374
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manny A View Post
I'm preparing a presentation to give a NFHS rules class next week. I'm responsible for covering Rule 7 on Batting.

Rather than the typical rules briefing that I've seen in many clinics, where the slides basically regurgitate the rules as written in the rule book, I'm providing examples of how the rules are applied. The one I'm struggling with is for 7-4-4 on batter interference.

The examples I've come up with so far are, but not sure if they really apply, are:
- She leans into a throw
- She moves out of the box and hinders the throw to a base
- She moves into the catcher and causes her to throw wild or abort the throw
- She hits the catcher with her follow-through swing
- She does not leave the batter’s box and hinders a play at the plate

Are any of these wrong? Are any others missing? Some I'm not sure of include when:
= she swings and her follow-through hits a loose ball (as opposed to hitting the catcher)
= she backs out of the box and kicks a loose ball as a runner from third tries to score
= she backs out of the box and falls over the catcher who is trying to pick up the loose ball as a runner from third tries to score
= she does vacate the box on a loose ball as a runner tries to score, and she still gets in the path of a throw back to the pitcher

Thanx in advance!
Being "Stirrer of the Pot" does not necessarily mean an all-season topic.
Research to follow.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 07, 2013, 10:55am
Stirrer of the Pot
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Lowcountry, SC
Posts: 2,353
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne View Post
Being "Stirrer of the Pot" does not necessarily mean an all-season topic.
Research to follow.
Wow, I didn't realize this was going to be such a tall order. I'm simply looking for examples of what is/isn't batter interference with the catcher and/or with plays at home plate.

The casebook is a good start. But it only covers a couple of unusual scenarios, where the batter hits the catcher with the follow-through and knocks the ball out of her mitt (I would have never called Interference on this since, at the time of the incident, there was no play being made on a runner), and where the batter pulls back the bat on a bunt attempt and hits the catcher's mitt.
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 07, 2013, 11:37am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,333
How about squaring to bunt with runner simultaneously stealing, and purposely dragging bat back into catchers face as pitch is coming in?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 07, 2013, 01:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,189
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manny A View Post
I'm preparing a presentation to give a NFHS rules class next week. I'm responsible for covering Rule 7 on Batting.

Rather than the typical rules briefing that I've seen in many clinics, where the slides basically regurgitate the rules as written in the rule book, I'm providing examples of how the rules are applied. The one I'm struggling with is for 7-4-4 on batter interference.

The examples I've come up with so far are, but not sure if they really apply, are:
- She leans into a throw
- She moves out of the box and hinders the throw to a base
- She moves into the catcher and causes her to throw wild or abort the throw
- She hits the catcher with her follow-through swing
- She does not leave the batter’s box and hinders a play at the plate

Are any of these wrong? Are any others missing? Some I'm not sure of include when:
= she swings and her follow-through hits a loose ball (as opposed to hitting the catcher)
= she backs out of the box and kicks a loose ball as a runner from third tries to score
= she backs out of the box and falls over the catcher who is trying to pick up the loose ball as a runner from third tries to score
= she does vacate the box on a loose ball as a runner tries to score, and she still gets in the path of a throw back to the pitcher

Thanx in advance!
I think this kind of training is very helpful. A few of thoughts: one, don't formulate everything in your list as interference. Present the scenario and let people discuss then reveal the training answer. It will improve recall.

Two: - She hits the catcher with her follow-through swing
I haven't had time to break out my rule book yet this year (it's on the nightstand for hopefully tonight), but I thought there was a rule that if no play is being made, this is just a dead ball? Is that only for hitting the ball out of the glove, or am I confusing it with something else?

Three: she backs out of the box and falls over the catcher who is trying to pick up the loose ball as a runner from third tries to score

This has to be interference, she actively did something which prevented fielding the ball. There's a slight modification though that I'm not sure I understand well. That is the case where no play is happening and then seeing the tangle the runner from third comes home. Your training would be better with a play like that.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 07, 2013, 01:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 246
Quote:
Originally Posted by RKBUmp View Post
How about squaring to bunt with runner simultaneously stealing, and purposely dragging bat back into catchers face as pitch is coming in?
Initiating malicious contact?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 07, 2013, 01:32pm
Stirrer of the Pot
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Lowcountry, SC
Posts: 2,353
Quote:
Originally Posted by youngump View Post
Two: - She hits the catcher with her follow-through swing
I haven't had time to break out my rule book yet this year (it's on the nightstand for hopefully tonight), but I thought there was a rule that if no play is being made, this is just a dead ball? Is that only for hitting the ball out of the glove, or am I confusing it with something else?
Here's the actual case book play:

"7.4.4 SITUATION D: With R1 on third and R2 on first base, B3 swings and does not make contact with the ball. On her follow-through, the bat comes around and inadvertently knocks the ball out of the catcher's glove. The ball rolls up the line; R1 scores and R2 advances to second base. RULING: Batter interference is called since the ball was in the catcher’s glove; the act does not have to be intentional. B3 is out, the ball is dead and all runners return to the last base touched at the time of the interference."

So the case play says nothing about the runners advancing at the time of the pitch (e.g., R2 is stealing second). I get the impression that no play was going on when the batter knocked the ball out of the catcher's glove. I would have called Dead Ball, no Interference, and the runners return to their bases. But that's not what NFHS wants called here.

And since the case play specifically points out that the ball was in the catcher's glove, perhaps they feel differently if the ball was loose and the bat hits it on the follow-through. I guess in that situation, the batter cannot be faulted for contacting a pitch that the catcher failed to secure, and that would be cause to just ruling Dead Ball, runners return.
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 08, 2013, 05:20pm
Stirrer of the Pot
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Lowcountry, SC
Posts: 2,353
Okay, this silence is killing me. Let me approach this a different way:

Scenario: Runner at third base. Pitch is in the dirt, and the ball goes behind the batter's box. The batter has no idea that the ball is there, and as she backs out of the way when she sees her teammate running home to score, she:

a. Kicks the ball further away
b. Tangles with the catcher as the catcher tries to pick up the ball

In both situations, the runner from third scores easily. Is the batter guilty of interfering with the catcher, and is ruled out with the runner returning to third? FED only please.
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 09, 2013, 08:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,793
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manny A View Post
Okay, this silence is killing me. Let me approach this a different way:

Scenario: Runner at third base. Pitch is in the dirt, and the ball goes behind the batter's box. The batter has no idea that the ball is there, and as she backs out of the way when she sees her teammate running home to score, she:

a. Kicks the ball further away
b. Tangles with the catcher as the catcher tries to pick up the ball

In both situations, the runner from third scores easily. Is the batter guilty of interfering with the catcher, and is ruled out with the runner returning to third? FED only please.
Why wouldn't that be interference, in either case? In no case is intent a factor, in no case is "just doing what she is supposed to" a factor, in both cases the offensive player impeded the opportunity a defensive player to make a play.

So, no written exception applies, and it is clear the defense lost an opportunity because of an action by the offense. What is the question?
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NFHS batter interference? shipwreck Softball 7 Mon Oct 01, 2012 09:52am
NFHS Batter interference rbmartin Baseball 12 Tue Mar 20, 2012 08:06am
Umpire Interference / Batter Interference bob jenkins Baseball 17 Mon Feb 06, 2012 09:57pm
Batter interference.....7-3-5a not 7-3-5c spots101 Baseball 4 Sun Sep 22, 2002 05:21pm
Batter Interference ump24 Baseball 6 Wed Mar 14, 2001 11:46pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:50am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1