The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 30, 2012, 06:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Crete, Nebraska
Posts: 731
Send a message via ICQ to shipwreck
NFHS batter interference?

I had an intense game the other night with #1 ranked playing #2 ranked team. Please tell me if I ruled correct, incorrect or HTBT? Runners on first and second. Runner is stealing third. Pitch comes in and catcher tries throwing runner out. Batter is in the batter's box, swinging bat around doing some sort of warm up swings. Ball being thrown from catcher hits the bat that is above the head of the batter while she is doing these warm up swings. I ruled interference, called batter out, and moved runners back. What do you say?

Dave
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 30, 2012, 06:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,351
Quote:
Originally Posted by shipwreck View Post
I had an intense game the other night with #1 ranked playing #2 ranked team. Please tell me if I ruled correct, incorrect or HTBT? Runners on first and second. Runner is stealing third. Pitch comes in and catcher tries throwing runner out. Batter is in the batter's box, swinging bat around doing some sort of warm up swings. Ball being thrown from catcher hits the bat that is above the head of the batter while she is doing these warm up swings. I ruled interference, called batter out, and moved runners back. What do you say?

Dave
I would say the warmup swings aren e not a natural or normal continuation, evif she swung at the pitch.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 30, 2012, 10:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 1,640
Sounds like a reasonable call. Swinging the bat around on practice swings isn't a normal part of receiving pitch or maintaining an expected batting position.

Let me guess...the offense coach blew up and argued against interference because his batter was "in the box".
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 01, 2012, 12:14am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 872
Quote:
Originally Posted by shipwreck View Post
I had an intense game the other night with #1 ranked playing #2 ranked team. Please tell me if I ruled correct, incorrect or HTBT? Runners on first and second. Runner is stealing third. Pitch comes in and catcher tries throwing runner out. Batter is in the batter's box, swinging bat around doing some sort of warm up swings. Ball being thrown from catcher hits the bat that is above the head of the batter while she is doing these warm up swings. I ruled interference, called batter out, and moved runners back. What do you say?

Dave
I'm with the others. I would have had interference.

Rita
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 01, 2012, 07:38am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Crete, Nebraska
Posts: 731
Send a message via ICQ to shipwreck
Quote:
Originally Posted by BretMan View Post
Sounds like a reasonable call. Swinging the bat around on practice swings isn't a normal part of receiving pitch or maintaining an expected batting position.

Let me guess...the offense coach blew up and argued against interference because his batter was "in the box".
After the explanation the head coach was ok with my ruling. Problem is, the assistant coach was not (although I really don't care about him) He let me know then if that's the case, he would instruct his catchers to just intentionally throw the ball at the batter in order to get interference. I told him that he would not only NOT get interference, he would get unsporting behavior slapped on him.
Dave
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 01, 2012, 08:53am
Moderator M-800
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by shipwreck View Post
After the explanation the head coach was ok with my ruling. Problem is, the assistant coach was not (although I really don't care about him) He let me know then if that's the case, he would instruct his catchers to just intentionally throw the ball at the batter in order to get interference. I told him that he would not only NOT get interference, he would get unsporting behavior slapped on him.
Dave
I would suggest ignoring the ***. Coach. If I felt compelled to say anything to him at all, it would be that even suggesting that his players should injure others is enough to get him thrown out.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 01, 2012, 09:26am
Stirrer of the Pot
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Lowcountry, SC
Posts: 2,333
Quote:
Originally Posted by shipwreck View Post
I had an intense game the other night with #1 ranked playing #2 ranked team. Please tell me if I ruled correct, incorrect or HTBT? Runners on first and second. Runner is stealing third. Pitch comes in and catcher tries throwing runner out. Batter is in the batter's box, swinging bat around doing some sort of warm up swings. Ball being thrown from catcher hits the bat that is above the head of the batter while she is doing these warm up swings. I ruled interference, called batter out, and moved runners back. What do you say?
Since we're speaking FED, the appropriate rule is 7-4-4:

"[The batter is out when] The batter interferes with the catcher's fielding or throwing by leaning over home plate, by stepping out of the batter's box, by making any movement which hinders action at home after the pitch reaches the catcher or the catcher's attempt to play on a runner, or by failing to make a reasonable effort to vacate congested area when there is a throw to home and there is time for the batter to move away."

FED Caseplay 7.4.4.A gives this explanation in a similar play: "B2 is entitled to her position in the batter's box and is not subject to interference unless she moves or re-establishes her position after F2 has received the pitch, which then prevents F2 from attempting to play on a runner."

Essentially, the batter must stay in the box and not move when F2 attempts a play on a runner at third. Any movement, even to reset in the box after the pitch, that hinders the catcher would be grounds for an interference call.
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 01, 2012, 09:52am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 2,671
Quote:
Originally Posted by shipwreck View Post
...I ruled interference, called batter out, and moved runners back. What do you say?

Dave
I say...."Good Call" ...for all of the reasons previously cited.
__________________
It's what you learn after you think you know it all that's important!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NFHS Batter interference rbmartin Baseball 12 Tue Mar 20, 2012 08:06am
Umpire Interference / Batter Interference bob jenkins Baseball 17 Mon Feb 06, 2012 09:57pm
Batter Interference?? tibear Baseball 5 Mon Jun 13, 2011 11:10am
Batter Interference? argodad Softball 1 Mon May 02, 2005 06:42pm
Batter Interference? Spence Baseball 14 Mon May 02, 2005 11:28am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:41pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1