![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
When a runner passes a base, the runner is considered to have touched that base. This also applies to awarded bases. I know it has been said by others but I will reiterate.....If the runner slid past 2nd....they are considered to have touched the base. Joel |
|
|||
|
Quote:
1. The runner is assumed to have touched second base when she passed it, removing the force 2. The tag of the runner attempting to return to second base is not considered an appeal 3. There is no opportunity to subsequently appeal her miss of second base for an advantageous fourth out Now, consider a similar play, except that the play is on the BR at first. On the play, F6's throw to first is offline, and the BR avoids F3's tag attempt after F3 catches the errant throw. While she avoids the tag, the BR fails to touch first base while passing it. The BR is unable to return to the bag before F3 tags her. R1 at third touches home well before the tag of the BR. If I understand RS#1 in the ASA book, the tag of the BR missing first is considered an appeal, and the run would not score, correct? If that's the case, why the inconsistency between similar plays?
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker |
|
|||
|
Quote:
At first, the runner is NOT in jeopardy of a normal tag for overrunning the base, so the tag of that player IS obviously an appeal of the miss.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
|
Quote:
In order to honor an appeal, I better get some indication from the defense that is is an appeal and what they are appealing. There are other reasons that the defensive player could be making that tag, pehaps the defense feels that the runner made an attempt to second base. On this play, somebody on defense better give me some indication that they saw the runner miss first base and that is why they are making a tag.
__________________
It's what you learn after you think you know it all that's important! |
|
|||
|
Have to go with Andy on that.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
|
|||
|
If the tag is made (at 2B) before the run scores, and then, seconds later, F6 (who made the tag) states to me something to the effect that "you did see her completely miss the base, right?"... should that be upheld as an appeal?
Meaning, the statement is made after the run scores... Last edited by jmkupka; Mon Oct 22, 2012 at 11:31am. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
|
|||
|
But in that case, would it be a fourth out or a third out.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
|
Quote:
)........or while applying the tag.....then it is unmistakable......I hate to use a BB term here.....but just tagging a runner who overslid a bag is not an appeal but an attempt at an out "during continuous action"......unless it includes some verbiage indicating it is an appeal. Joel Last edited by Gulf Coast Blue; Mon Oct 22, 2012 at 01:27pm. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Most, if not all, of the times that F3 would tag a BR (now R) that has overrun first base is to appeal an attempt to second. So, I don't think that appeal is obvious, at all; and if appealing the wrong thing, the appeal should be denied!! How do you differentiate THAT appeal (where the run would score even if you honored it) from an appeal of a missed base (where the run would not score)? Don't you have to ask what F3 is appealing?
__________________
Steve ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF |
|
|||
|
Quote:
That said, tags of BRs overrunning first base almost always comes with some sort of comment by the defense. You'll either hear, "TAG HER! SHE TURNED FOR SECOND!" or "TAG HER! SHE MISSED THE BAG!" Wouldn't hearing the latter comment, and/or clearly seeing from the BR's reaction that she KNEW she missed the bag be enough to indicate the tag is an appeal?
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Force Out(s)? | Blackie | Softball | 7 | Thu Oct 25, 2007 03:26pm |
| Force or no Force? | HEYBLUE11 | Softball | 4 | Fri Oct 05, 2007 04:21pm |
| Force out | benbret | Softball | 2 | Sat Apr 15, 2006 07:50am |
| Force out at 1B? | WestMichBlue | Softball | 23 | Mon Apr 03, 2006 10:54pm |
| Force out at 1B | greymule | Softball | 8 | Thu Feb 19, 2004 01:36pm |