|  | 
| 
 | |||
| 
				
				Force out at 1B?
			 
			
			We all know that a put-out of the batter-runner at 1B is not a force out.  Or do we? For 60 years the ASA rule stated that a batter-runner was put out by tagging with the ball, or by tagging the base. Now it just says that the B-R is legally put out before reaching 1B. It is assumed that we automatically know how to get the B-R out. But old or new rule, the word "force" doesn't exist. A Runner off base can be put out by being tagged with the ball, or by tagging the base on a "force" play. We don't score a run on the 3rd out of the inning if the B-R is put out prior to 1B, or another runner is forced. Obviously there is a difference in rules for a B-R and a Runner, and there is no "force out" on a B-R. BUT . . . . . . . . Take a look at ASA double first base rules and you see the word "force" at 1B. ASA test #24 says that a put-out at 1B is a "force play." So - is a put-out at 1B a force out? Or is this just bad typing? WMB | 
| Bookmarks | 
| 
 |  | 
|  Similar Threads | ||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post | 
| "Force" redux | greymule | Baseball | 33 | Fri Aug 20, 2004 06:54pm | 
| Force Play? | Lapopez | Baseball | 78 | Mon Jul 26, 2004 11:15am | 
| Force out at 1B | greymule | Softball | 8 | Thu Feb 19, 2004 01:36pm | 
| Force Out | rickbeauv | Softball | 22 | Tue Jun 24, 2003 04:04pm | 
| Force at 2nd | brumey1107 | Baseball | 2 | Tue Apr 23, 2002 03:00pm |