![]() |
|
|||
Question that was posed
We were asked for a ruling on this play:
The Coach of team A, who is batting, throws a ball to the pitcher. Player A1 then hits a home run. A fan immediately returns the ball to field of play. The ball is returned to the pitcher, Team B, who informs the umpire the ball hit for a home run is a non-approved softball. The umpires checks the ball and rules the ball is illegal. What I said was This could be a ball rotation issue. ASA rules supplement rule 2 page 113. B. The current game ball should be used until it goes out of play or becomesunplayable. When the ball goes out of play, the umpire should put another ball in play. The pitcher MUST now pitch with that ball unless it is deemed unplayable by the umpire. As such since the plate umpire did not check the ball for its legality, it would seem that this one is on the umpire. Unless the blue chooses to use the elasticity rule for HP duties, in which case, it is going to be a no win situation. For Slow pitch it is a completely different situation. In that case rule 7-2 e applies Offensive coach gets option to take the play or having the last batter bat again assuming the previous ball-strike count. What do you think? |
Bookmarks |
Thread Tools | |
Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Situation posed | SAK | Basketball | 14 | Fri Jan 29, 2010 02:50pm |
A question on a play and a mechanics question. | aevans410 | Baseball | 11 | Mon May 12, 2008 09:23am |
two questions - start of half question and free throw question | hoopguy | Basketball | 6 | Wed Mar 28, 2007 11:12pm |
Question posed by NCAA official | RookieDude | Basketball | 8 | Tue Dec 13, 2005 07:17am |
Over the back Question? Sorry mistyped my first question | CoaachJF | Basketball | 15 | Thu Feb 27, 2003 03:18pm |