The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 22, 2012, 10:47am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 2,672
1. I would consider that an appeal

2. Not 100% sure, but I believe her opportunity to come back and touch home would end when she entered the dugout. In this case, however, if it was clear to me that she is making no move to come back and touch the plate, I would honor the appeal and rule on it.
__________________
It's what you learn after you think you know it all that's important!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 22, 2012, 11:18am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 4,361
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy View Post
In this case, however, if it was clear to me that she is making no move to come back and touch the plate, I would honor the appeal and rule on it.
I'm not sure I agree with this. Just like a foul ball that's slowly rolling 10 feet from the line, you never know if it could hit a rock and bounce back fair.

I wouldn't make the call until she can no longer correct her mistake.
__________________
Dave

I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views!

Screw green, it ain't easy being blue!

I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 22, 2012, 12:33pm
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Central Illinois
Posts: 391
In a JUCO game last year, I had a throw to the plate hit R1's foot which caused her to misstep and miss the plate. As the throw caromed away, a subsequent runner (R2) came around to score. The offensive dugout shouted out to R1 to "touch the plate!!" Meanwhile F2 retrieves the ball and headed toward R1 while R1 heads for the plate. F2 is late getting to R1 and as R1 touches the plate, F2 gives up trying to tag her and returns the ball to F1.

DHC comes out and says, "Isn't the second runner out?" I asked why. She said, "Because she passed the first runner when she missed the plate!" I explained that passing a runner only occurs when a runner physically passes a runner and since that did not occur in this situation, there is no out for passing a runner.

Then, the DHC says, "Well, she did miss the plate, didn't she?"

At this point, I'm trying to figure out the best way to handle the situation. I'm asking myself, "Should I treat her question as a valid appeal?" So, instead of doing so, I just say, "Yes, she did." Then, the coach says, "Okay," and heads back to the dugout. She never asked for an appeal and just accepted my explainations. She must have thought that she could legally retouch despite a succeeding runner scoring.

My thought process at the time was: if she didn't feel the other team did something illegal, I wasn't going to point her in that direction moreso than I already had. I had given her all the information she needed to appeal, but she never used that word. However, ever since, I have questioned whether, or not, I handled the situation correctly. Should I have treated her question as an appeal? Was she just asking for information?

What say the board?

Last edited by RadioBlue; Wed Feb 22, 2012 at 02:09pm.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 22, 2012, 03:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,210
Quote:
Originally Posted by RadioBlue View Post
In a JUCO game last year, I had a throw to the plate hit R1's foot which caused her to misstep and miss the plate. As the throw caromed away, a subsequent runner (R2) came around to score. The offensive dugout shouted out to R1 to "touch the plate!!" Meanwhile F2 retrieves the ball and headed toward R1 while R1 heads for the plate. F2 is late getting to R1 and as R1 touches the plate, F2 gives up trying to tag her and returns the ball to F1.

DHC comes out and says, "Isn't the second runner out?" I asked why. She said, "Because she passed the first runner when she missed the plate!" I explained that passing a runner only occurs when a runner physically passes a runner and since that did not occur in this situation, there is no out for passing a runner.

Then, the DHC says, "Well, she did miss the plate, didn't she?"

At this point, I'm trying to figure out the best way to handle the situation. I'm asking myself, "Should I treat her question as a valid appeal?" So, instead of doing so, I just say, "Yes, she did." Then, the coach says, "Okay," and heads back to the dugout. She never asked for an appeal and just accepted my explainations. She must have thought that she could legally retouch despite a succeeding runner scoring.

My thought process at the time was: if she didn't feel the other team did something illegal, I wasn't going to point her in that direction moreso than I already had. I had given her all the information she needed to appeal, but she never used that word. However, ever since, I have questioned whether, or not, I handled the situation correctly. Should I have treated her question as an appeal? Was she just asking for information?

What say the board?
I don't work college ball. Can coaches make an appeal?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 22, 2012, 04:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 937
Quote:
Originally Posted by youngump View Post
I don't work college ball. Can coaches make an appeal?
Yes, a coach can make a dead ball appeal.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 22, 2012, 04:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 4,361
Quote:
Originally Posted by KJUmp View Post
Yes, a coach can make a dead ball appeal.
Now is that by rule? Or by coach's rule?
__________________
Dave

I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views!

Screw green, it ain't easy being blue!

I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 22, 2012, 06:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: north central Pa
Posts: 2,360
Quote:
Originally Posted by NCASAUmp View Post
Now is that by rule? Or by coach's rule?
YES
__________________
Steve M
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 22, 2012, 12:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy View Post
1. I would consider that an appeal
I agree.

Quote:
2. Not 100% sure, but I believe her opportunity to come back and touch home would end when she entered the dugout. In this case, however, if it was clear to me that she is making no move to come back and touch the plate, I would honor the appeal and rule on it.
I don't think you pull the trigger until you have the ammunition in the chamber. IOW, I would probably wait until she left the playing field or something occurred which negates the runner's ability to return before recognizing the coach's request to enter the playing field.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Missed Base or Nothing? mrm21711 Baseball 1 Sun May 01, 2005 09:56pm
OBS and missed base WhoMe? Softball 6 Wed Jul 28, 2004 03:39pm
FED - Missed base PeteBooth Baseball 2 Tue Oct 01, 2002 03:33pm
Missed Base brandda Baseball 3 Tue May 21, 2002 09:43pm
Missed base Dakota Softball 13 Mon May 21, 2001 11:06am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:05am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1