The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 27, 2003, 08:03am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 508
Smile

Quote:
Originally posted by Dakota
I can't speak for LL, but with ASA rules, the umpire in your game was within the rules, especially if he warned both team ahead of time about jewelry.

The batter has 10 sec from "batter up" (spoken or impled) to be in the box, ready to go. The rule is to prevent delay of the game. The team had been warned about jewelry. The batter showed up in the box wearing jewelry. She (or her coach) was unnecessarily delaying the game.

The ASA rule book gives the umpire the latitude to give warnings or call strikes in the situation of a batter not being ready. The ASA rules that apply here are ASA 3-6-F, 7-3-B, 7-3-C-EFFECT, and 7-4-J.

Having said all of that, however, in a "minors" (is that 10U or 12U?) game, I'd simply call time and have the jewlery removed, unless removal became a production.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ ~~~~~~~~~`
Dakota, 11-12's. BS call IMHO. It went against opposing team, I am wondering bout this. Delay in BB is very seldom called, jewelry should not be the cause....JMHO
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:13am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1