The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 16, 2011, 08:37am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
A couple of interesting points made here... thanks all - that's exactly why I posted it.

It seems to be the consensus, at least, that I (yes, I was PU) called time at the proper time. My supervisor (as well as at least 2 of our most experienced umpires) indicated that I should have let the play play out a bit more and not be so quick on calling time. 99.9% of the time if any of these 3 (much less all 3) are going to give me advice, I'm accepting the advice and thanking them for it... I respect all 3 that much. In THIS case, however, I feel their advice is dead wrong.

I take it a step further... if I was a coach (not a rat... a coach!) and the umpire did not kill it - I feel I'd have a valid protest (assuming I can get the umpire to admit he didn't kill it because he felt there was further play to be had, and not simply judgement that F1 didn't have control or something along those lines)... The rules simply say that what F1 did stops play. Period. In fact, the idea that I prevented the defense from executing a play or prevented offense from continuing to run kind of irks me ... as that is the PURPOSE of this rule - giving the defense a way to stop play and prevent offense from continuing to run.

The most interesting idea I've read above, and didn't consider on the field, was the thought that the "placement" of the runners in this situation might be similar to an "award" - and if it's an award (a la ball out of play, obs, etc), the runner should be allowed to complete their baserunning duties. Obviously, this being a made up Calvinball rule, there's no right answer. The rules don't use the word AWARD when giving the runner the base after where they stand at the moment of the dead ball... so I could see the justification of NOT allowing them to go back and retouch before continuing home... but the acts of Placement and Award are similar enough that I could see justifying allowing it as well. Obviously - this is a point that should be clarified by the Calvinballrulemakers.

(And then ... if we call this an award, and the runner returns to 3rd without retouching home... and then goes home --- do we have a LTB issue?!?!)
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NFHS Rules Interpreters versus IAABO Rules Interpreters dpicard Basketball 7 Mon Dec 07, 2009 01:13pm
Conundrum! Skahtboi Softball 10 Thu Mar 25, 2004 03:25pm
There are no rules and those are the rules. NCAA JeffTheRef Basketball 6 Sat Feb 07, 2004 11:01pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:36pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1