The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 16, 2011, 12:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,822
Quote:
Originally Posted by BretMan View Post
That's what I was getting at in my reply to youngump. There is a rule that says a runner may go back and correct a baserunning mistake if the ball becomes dead due to an overthrow or blocked ball. This was neither of those.
Doesn't this local rule in effect make it a dead ball same as a blocked ball, with award based on runner's location? They are adding a new form of blocked; controlled by pitcher in the circle.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BretMan View Post
Sure, I see the parallel. I also recall the thorough trouncing I got a few days ago when I suggested a parallel between a couple of other rules!
And I submit that we have to consider the most likely and consistent interpretation possible whenever there isn't a rule that covers a specific instance. It may be that the absence of a rule is intentional, to indicate there is NO ruling necessary, but we are required to use some logic when ruling on something simply not covered by rule.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BretMan View Post
When the runner touched home the second time (at the umpire's direction), her miss of the plate was corrected under the "last time by" theory. At that point, there were no appeals to be had.
Not on my game; last time by, a theory not particularly or specifically referenced by any rules authority I have noticed, doesn't supercede touching bases in the proper order, a rule. If touching home the last time by corrects the miss of home required before returning to third, then she still must return to third after finally touching home, as that is the required (in proper order) sequence; 1) retouch home on the way back, 2) retouch third as required, 3) THEN can be awarded home.

ASA 8-3.A, When a runner must return to a base when the ball is live or dead, the bases must be touched in reverse order. EFFECT: The runner is out, if properly appealed. And,

ASA 8-5.G (2) without full quote, requires giving runner an opportunity to "complete their baserunning responsibilities" if the runner is a base beyond prior to awarding bases on a overthrow or blocked ball. The baserunning responsibilities include 8-3.A, which is never stated as not required with the sole exception of a foul ball (in effect, a ball that never was in play, and there never was an advance, so why would you need to retrace in order).
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NFHS Rules Interpreters versus IAABO Rules Interpreters dpicard Basketball 7 Mon Dec 07, 2009 01:13pm
Conundrum! Skahtboi Softball 10 Thu Mar 25, 2004 03:25pm
There are no rules and those are the rules. NCAA JeffTheRef Basketball 6 Sat Feb 07, 2004 11:01pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:30pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1