![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
What rule are you applying to say that she "legally retouched after the ball became dead"?
|
|
|||
|
I'm with YoungUmp on this one. Here's the parallel; suppose the ball became dead because it was thrown out of play, instead of because the pitcher controlled it.
Wouldn't you allow the runner to return to a base left early during the dead ball, THEN award bases (home in this case, because she was more than half-way)? So, isn't this the same play (just a different creating the dead ball)? Now, some will argue that her position wasn't a legal advancement; we hear that all the time as a supposed reason to change an award. But this rule, just like the awarded bases, relates to the player's position, without granting merit to the legality of that position. So, I have a legal return to 3rd during the dead ball, negating that possible appeal; and a proper award back to home, under their local rule. If the defense wishes to appeal the miss of home on her return, I would honor that appeal, call fer out, and negate the run.
__________________
Steve ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF |
|
|||
|
Quote:
but in this case, the defense is simply following the rule set which the league set fourth and 'killed the ball' legally and intentionally. ( |
|
|||
|
But my question is why are there umpires working these games?
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
I work games in a fall league that has some pretty good competition for the older kids. They also have an 8U machine pitch division. I guess that some of the guys that were getting assigned to the 8U games complained about it, so the lady that runs the league decided to rotate the umpires through all the age divisions. I really like working this league. They have nice fields, it's close to home, there's a laid back atmosphere and it's a chance to be out umpiring during a slow time of the year. But this week, I have to pay my penance... My number came up and I get to work three 8U games on Sunday. I just hope that I can stay awake through the whole thing! Last edited by BretMan; Fri Sep 16, 2011 at 08:04am. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
|
It's 8U. About half the 8U around here has umpires, and half doesn't. After this week, they may well decide not to. However, the LP indicated that he might want no umpires for league play, and then umpires for tourney. To me, that's the worst of both worlds. Either pay for the umpire so that they learn during the year and know what to expect during tourney ... or DON'T pay for the umpire and DON'T have an umpire for the tourney. Consistency is key. Switching before the tournament is about the worst thing they could do in my book.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
|
A couple of interesting points made here... thanks all - that's exactly why I posted it.
It seems to be the consensus, at least, that I (yes, I was PU) called time at the proper time. My supervisor (as well as at least 2 of our most experienced umpires) indicated that I should have let the play play out a bit more and not be so quick on calling time. 99.9% of the time if any of these 3 (much less all 3) are going to give me advice, I'm accepting the advice and thanking them for it... I respect all 3 that much. In THIS case, however, I feel their advice is dead wrong. I take it a step further... if I was a coach (not a rat... a coach!) and the umpire did not kill it - I feel I'd have a valid protest (assuming I can get the umpire to admit he didn't kill it because he felt there was further play to be had, and not simply judgement that F1 didn't have control or something along those lines)... The rules simply say that what F1 did stops play. Period. In fact, the idea that I prevented the defense from executing a play or prevented offense from continuing to run kind of irks me ... as that is the PURPOSE of this rule - giving the defense a way to stop play and prevent offense from continuing to run. The most interesting idea I've read above, and didn't consider on the field, was the thought that the "placement" of the runners in this situation might be similar to an "award" - and if it's an award (a la ball out of play, obs, etc), the runner should be allowed to complete their baserunning duties. Obviously, this being a made up Calvinball rule, there's no right answer. The rules don't use the word AWARD when giving the runner the base after where they stand at the moment of the dead ball... so I could see the justification of NOT allowing them to go back and retouch before continuing home... but the acts of Placement and Award are similar enough that I could see justifying allowing it as well. Obviously - this is a point that should be clarified by the Calvinballrulemakers. (And then ... if we call this an award, and the runner returns to 3rd without retouching home... and then goes home --- do we have a LTB issue?!?!)
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
|
Quote:
The best part, for me as an assignor, is that our youth slowpitch has dried up; leagues just don't make anymore. I can still redirect those unable (physically) or unwilling to work fastpitch to coach pitch 8U, and keep them working (while not tieing up an experienced umpire). I also use it to get some young teens some experience at game management, without putting them in "real" fastpitch.
__________________
Steve ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF |
|
|||
|
Quote:
8U do not need umpires, they need coaches. IMO, it is a waste of money, but to some parents it is worth it. Quote:
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Sure, I see the parallel. I also recall the thorough trouncing I got a few days ago when I suggested a parallel between a couple of other rules! ![]() Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
ASA 8-3.A, When a runner must return to a base when the ball is live or dead, the bases must be touched in reverse order. EFFECT: The runner is out, if properly appealed. And, ASA 8-5.G (2) without full quote, requires giving runner an opportunity to "complete their baserunning responsibilities" if the runner is a base beyond prior to awarding bases on a overthrow or blocked ball. The baserunning responsibilities include 8-3.A, which is never stated as not required with the sole exception of a foul ball (in effect, a ball that never was in play, and there never was an advance, so why would you need to retrace in order).
__________________
Steve ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF |
|
|||
|
Quote:
I looked through there and couldn't find it. Apparently, I am thinking of another sanctioning body. I definitely remember discussing this for some rule set or another before this season started. ![]() But I'm still not buying the whole "this is just like a blocked ball" argument! Besides the fact that there is a very precise definition of and rule covering a blocked ball, a blocked ball (with a base award to the runners) is the result of the defensive team doing something they're not supposed to do. On this play, the defense was doing exactly what the rule compels them to do! Last edited by BretMan; Fri Sep 16, 2011 at 02:12pm. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| NFHS Rules Interpreters versus IAABO Rules Interpreters | dpicard | Basketball | 7 | Mon Dec 07, 2009 01:13pm |
| Conundrum! | Skahtboi | Softball | 10 | Thu Mar 25, 2004 03:25pm |
| There are no rules and those are the rules. NCAA | JeffTheRef | Basketball | 6 | Sat Feb 07, 2004 11:01pm |