The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 22, 2011, 09:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,210
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
I assume you are referring to a batter-runner since there is no double-base for a runner.
Yes, I meant the batter runner.


Quote:
No, the BR/R is ruled out on appeal for missing the one of two bases which they are required to touch when there is a play at 1B.
Given the hassle you gave me over definitions in the previous quote, I'll give it back and point out that there aren't two first bases. And there no rule that says that you can treat it that way.


Quote:
That is because the moment the BR touches or passes 1B, that player is now a runner. ASA 1.Batter Runner and 1.Runner



ASA 8.7.F-I.Effect
You can try and get there on I (and I don't dispute that's exactly how it's meant to be done). But you have to ignore (and should ignore) the text of the rule to do it. In relevant part it states, ***and the runner fails to touch it***. But the runner did touch it, she just got the wrong portion.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Double First Base SRW Softball 11 Thu Aug 04, 2005 10:59am
Double first base bkbjones Softball 11 Wed Jul 20, 2005 09:21pm
ASA Double base play -- I hope I'm not off-base here Tap Softball 9 Wed Mar 05, 2003 11:15pm
appealing on a tag. tdun44 Baseball 7 Mon Jul 01, 2002 02:50pm
Appealing Just Curious Softball 4 Thu Feb 28, 2002 10:12pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:27pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1