The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 21, 2011, 07:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by youngump View Post
A runner using only the white portion of first base has not missed first base. He has touched first base.
I assume you are referring to a batter-runner since there is no double-base for a runner.

Quote:
If called out on appeal, he's being called out for using only the white portion of first base while a play was being made not for missing the base.
No, the BR/R is ruled out on appeal for missing the one of two bases which they are required to touch when there is a play at 1B.

Quote:
(For example see the rules supplement under appeals that differentiates these or try and find a rule that it breaks).
Very clearly RS 1.A.1, but that is not a rule.

Quote:
And the rule book states that he may be called out for this until he has returned to first base. It does not say as it should that touching only the white portion of first base should be treated as missing first base correctable by touching either part of the base has been retouched.
That is because the moment the BR touches or passes 1B, that player is now a runner. ASA 1.Batter Runner and 1.Runner

Quote:
Suppose that an umpire you were working with, insisted that an appeal be honored after a pitch for this violation and you wanted to show him in the rule book where that was wrong. You could go to the rules supplement where it's clear. But can you find a rule?
ASA 8.7.F-I.Effect
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 22, 2011, 09:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,210
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
I assume you are referring to a batter-runner since there is no double-base for a runner.
Yes, I meant the batter runner.


Quote:
No, the BR/R is ruled out on appeal for missing the one of two bases which they are required to touch when there is a play at 1B.
Given the hassle you gave me over definitions in the previous quote, I'll give it back and point out that there aren't two first bases. And there no rule that says that you can treat it that way.


Quote:
That is because the moment the BR touches or passes 1B, that player is now a runner. ASA 1.Batter Runner and 1.Runner



ASA 8.7.F-I.Effect
You can try and get there on I (and I don't dispute that's exactly how it's meant to be done). But you have to ignore (and should ignore) the text of the rule to do it. In relevant part it states, ***and the runner fails to touch it***. But the runner did touch it, she just got the wrong portion.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 22, 2011, 10:29am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by youngump View Post
In relevant part it states, ***and the runner fails to touch it***. But the runner did touch it, she just got the wrong portion.
Again. Runner and Batter-Runner are not always the same thing. they are treated similarly, but not identically. This is one of the places that matters. The part you're quoting refers to a runner.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 22, 2011, 10:33am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,210
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbcrowder View Post
Again. Runner and Batter-Runner are not always the same thing. they are treated similarly, but not identically. This is one of the places that matters. The part you're quoting refers to a runner.
Is there another spot you can go to get a batter-runner out who simply misses first base? I think in this case runner is meant to include the batter runner.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 22, 2011, 10:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Look, I'm not one to shy away from picking on the ASA book for occasional goofy, convoluted, or contradictory wording, but this discussion would shame the 13th century monks arguing about how many angels could fit on the head of a pin.

Has ASA changed the wording of the double base rule since 2009? (The only rule book I have at work is a pdf copy of the 2009 book.)

The 2009 book seems crystal clear on this:

ASA 8-2-M-3 (2009)
Quote:
When a play is being made on the batter-runner, the defense must
use the white portion and the batter-runner the colored portion of the
base.
EFFECT: The batter-runner is out when there is a play being made at
first base and the batter-runner touches only the white portion, providing
the defense appeals prior to the batter-runner returning to first base.
Once the runner returns to the white or colored portion of the base, an
appeal shall not be honored.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 22, 2011, 11:59am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,210
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dakota View Post
Look, I'm not one to shy away from picking on the ASA book for occasional goofy, convoluted, or contradictory wording, but this discussion would shame the 13th century monks arguing about how many angels could fit on the head of a pin.

Has ASA changed the wording of the double base rule since 2009? (The only rule book I have at work is a pdf copy of the 2009 book.)

The 2009 book seems crystal clear on this:

ASA 8-2-M-3 (2009)
There's no contention about a batter returning ending the appeal window. The problem is that if the batter doesn't return but instead advances then by rule the appeal window never ends. This is an oversight that you can get out of if you say there are two first bases but I'm pretty sure the rule book never tries to make that contention. It's one big base even if it's made of two pieces and the rules are very clear about talking about portions of the same base.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 22, 2011, 12:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 962
Quote:
Originally Posted by youngump View Post
There's no contention about a batter returning ending the appeal window. The problem is that if the batter doesn't return but instead advances then by rule the appeal window never ends.
Doesn't the appeal window end after the next pitch legal or illegal? Isn't that in the general appeals information? Page 111 rules supplement 1.A.1 talks about an appeal for touching the white only, then 1.E says when it has to be made (before next pitch, end of inning infielders leave fair territory, end of game umpire leave field). Seems like there is an end to the appeal period for touching the white only.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 22, 2011, 10:53am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by youngump View Post
Is there another spot you can go to get a batter-runner out who simply misses first base? I think in this case runner is meant to include the batter runner.
I thought we'd already covered that pretty thickly. The rule about the BR says that if she gets back to first before the appeal, there's no appeal to be honored - if not, she's out.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 22, 2011, 11:26am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by youngump View Post
Given the hassle you gave me over definitions in the previous quote, I'll give it back and point out that there aren't two first bases. And there no rule that says that you can treat it that way.
Let's see, there is a base (one) of a particular size and then there is the double base (two), each with the exact same specifications. Oh, and BTW, not all fields are equiped with a one-piece double base, some are two separate pieces that, by rule, must be identical in all aspects other than color.

Quote:
You can try and get there on I (and I don't dispute that's exactly how it's meant to be done). But you have to ignore (and should ignore) the text of the rule to do it. In relevant part it states, ***and the runner fails to touch it***. But the runner did touch it, she just got the wrong portion.
Again, the BR did not touch the base the rules direct the BR to touch and I don't have to ignore ****.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Double First Base SRW Softball 11 Thu Aug 04, 2005 10:59am
Double first base bkbjones Softball 11 Wed Jul 20, 2005 09:21pm
ASA Double base play -- I hope I'm not off-base here Tap Softball 9 Wed Mar 05, 2003 11:15pm
appealing on a tag. tdun44 Baseball 7 Mon Jul 01, 2002 02:50pm
Appealing Just Curious Softball 4 Thu Feb 28, 2002 10:12pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:17pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1