The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 21, 2011, 01:37pm
Back from the DL
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Maine
Posts: 2,540
Quote:
Originally Posted by HugoTafurst View Post
The window for appeal ends when she returns to touch first because, well............. once she returns to touch first, she no longer has missed first!!!
There lies the simplicity I was seeking.

Thanks. By the way, does the same who-can-appeal rule apply (any defensive player for a live ball, infielder for a dead ball)?
__________________
Confidence is a vehicle, not a destination.

Last edited by bainsey; Thu Jul 21, 2011 at 01:51pm.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 21, 2011, 02:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 537
Quote:
Originally Posted by bainsey View Post
There lies the simplicity I was seeking.

Thanks. By the way, does the same who-can-appeal rule apply (any defensive player for a live ball, infielder for a dead ball)?
No, as this is an instance of a live ball appeal only. This is a special case of missing a base because the BR can over run first without jeopardy to be put out. Using the wrong portion of the bag is in extension of missing first base.

Therefore, if the BR touches the wrong color while arriving before the ball, the umpire should signal safe (unlike what happened in the Yankees/Blue Jays game last week, thread on the baseball board has a video clip). Then wait for a live ball appeal or the runner to arrive back at first.

However, if the BR continues to second before retouching first (for what ever reason) and is standing on second, then this just becomes a missed base appeal and the deal ball appeal procedure can be used.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 21, 2011, 02:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,822
Quote:
Originally Posted by bainsey View Post
There lies the simplicity I was seeking.

Thanks. By the way, does the same who-can-appeal rule apply (any defensive player for a live ball, infielder for a dead ball)?
I have to admit I was wondering where you were missing the connection to the first point 1), being until corrected (which the runner does by returning to touch the base, either base at that point). The rule you were citing simply reflected that, without using those words.

If not corrected, all other appeal windows which might apply still apply; it isn't a different rule, actually, than any other missed base which can be appealed.
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 21, 2011, 02:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,210
Quote:
Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve View Post
I have to admit I was wondering where you were missing the connection to the first point 1), being until corrected (which the runner does by returning to touch the base, either base at that point). The rule you were citing simply reflected that, without using those words.

If not corrected, all other appeal windows which might apply still apply; it isn't a different rule, actually, than any other missed base which can be appealed.
While I agree this is how it's meant to be called (though I don't particularly like the rule), I don't think the rule book actually says this. Allow me to play rulebook lawyer here.

A runner using only the white portion of first base has not missed first base. He has touched first base. If called out on appeal, he's being called out for using only the white portion of first base while a play was being made not for missing the base. (For example see the rules supplement under appeals that differentiates these or try and find a rule that it breaks). And the rule book states that he may be called out for this until he has returned to first base. It does not say as it should that touching only the white portion of first base should be treated as missing first base correctable by touching either part of the base has been retouched.

Suppose that an umpire you were working with, insisted that an appeal be honored after a pitch for this violation and you wanted to show him in the rule book where that was wrong. You could go to the rules supplement where it's clear. But can you find a rule?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 21, 2011, 03:11pm
Back from the DL
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Maine
Posts: 2,540
Quote:
Originally Posted by youngump View Post
A runner using only the white portion of first base has not missed first base. He has touched first base. If called out on appeal, he's being called out for using only the white portion of first base while a play was being made not for missing the base.
That's exactly where my mindset was.

Quote:
Suppose that an umpire you were working with, insisted that an appeal be honored after a pitch for this violation and you wanted to show him in the rule book where that was wrong. You could go to the rules supplement where it's clear. But can you find a rule?
Actually, I believe I cited that very rule in the fourth post of this thread.
__________________
Confidence is a vehicle, not a destination.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 21, 2011, 07:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by youngump View Post
A runner using only the white portion of first base has not missed first base. He has touched first base.
I assume you are referring to a batter-runner since there is no double-base for a runner.

Quote:
If called out on appeal, he's being called out for using only the white portion of first base while a play was being made not for missing the base.
No, the BR/R is ruled out on appeal for missing the one of two bases which they are required to touch when there is a play at 1B.

Quote:
(For example see the rules supplement under appeals that differentiates these or try and find a rule that it breaks).
Very clearly RS 1.A.1, but that is not a rule.

Quote:
And the rule book states that he may be called out for this until he has returned to first base. It does not say as it should that touching only the white portion of first base should be treated as missing first base correctable by touching either part of the base has been retouched.
That is because the moment the BR touches or passes 1B, that player is now a runner. ASA 1.Batter Runner and 1.Runner

Quote:
Suppose that an umpire you were working with, insisted that an appeal be honored after a pitch for this violation and you wanted to show him in the rule book where that was wrong. You could go to the rules supplement where it's clear. But can you find a rule?
ASA 8.7.F-I.Effect
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 22, 2011, 09:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,210
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
I assume you are referring to a batter-runner since there is no double-base for a runner.
Yes, I meant the batter runner.


Quote:
No, the BR/R is ruled out on appeal for missing the one of two bases which they are required to touch when there is a play at 1B.
Given the hassle you gave me over definitions in the previous quote, I'll give it back and point out that there aren't two first bases. And there no rule that says that you can treat it that way.


Quote:
That is because the moment the BR touches or passes 1B, that player is now a runner. ASA 1.Batter Runner and 1.Runner



ASA 8.7.F-I.Effect
You can try and get there on I (and I don't dispute that's exactly how it's meant to be done). But you have to ignore (and should ignore) the text of the rule to do it. In relevant part it states, ***and the runner fails to touch it***. But the runner did touch it, she just got the wrong portion.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 22, 2011, 10:29am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by youngump View Post
In relevant part it states, ***and the runner fails to touch it***. But the runner did touch it, she just got the wrong portion.
Again. Runner and Batter-Runner are not always the same thing. they are treated similarly, but not identically. This is one of the places that matters. The part you're quoting refers to a runner.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 22, 2011, 10:33am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,210
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbcrowder View Post
Again. Runner and Batter-Runner are not always the same thing. they are treated similarly, but not identically. This is one of the places that matters. The part you're quoting refers to a runner.
Is there another spot you can go to get a batter-runner out who simply misses first base? I think in this case runner is meant to include the batter runner.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 22, 2011, 11:26am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by youngump View Post
Given the hassle you gave me over definitions in the previous quote, I'll give it back and point out that there aren't two first bases. And there no rule that says that you can treat it that way.
Let's see, there is a base (one) of a particular size and then there is the double base (two), each with the exact same specifications. Oh, and BTW, not all fields are equiped with a one-piece double base, some are two separate pieces that, by rule, must be identical in all aspects other than color.

Quote:
You can try and get there on I (and I don't dispute that's exactly how it's meant to be done). But you have to ignore (and should ignore) the text of the rule to do it. In relevant part it states, ***and the runner fails to touch it***. But the runner did touch it, she just got the wrong portion.
Again, the BR did not touch the base the rules direct the BR to touch and I don't have to ignore ****.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 22, 2011, 06:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Pace, FL
Posts: 653
Send a message via AIM to argodad
Quote:
Originally Posted by youngump View Post
Allow me to play rulebook lawyer here.
I've always preferred to be a rulebook student rather than a rulebook lawyer.
__________________
Larry
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jul 23, 2011, 11:46am
SRW SRW is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Seattle area
Posts: 1,342
Allow me to apologize. He's one of mine.



__________________
We see with our eyes. Fans and parents see with their hearts.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 25, 2011, 10:08am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,210
Quote:
Originally Posted by SRW View Post
Allow me to apologize. He's one of mine.



Hey now. I'm a student of the book too, just sometimes like to see things from left field ... and I warned everybody before I started I was going off into left field. Besides I've been off the field all summer with eye surgery, so I have an excuse to overthink things.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 25, 2011, 01:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,822
Quote:
Originally Posted by youngump View Post
Hey now. I'm a student of the book too, just sometimes like to see things from left field ... and I warned everybody before I started I was going off into left field. Besides I've been off the field all summer with eye surgery, so I have an excuse to overthink things.
But, dude, answered back on post #3, and reinforced on post #6 of this thread. But, continued efforts to discredit only reinforced the obvious (at least to most, it would seem).

On another note, hope the surgery was successful for you.

SRW, good to see you back from time to time.
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 25, 2011, 03:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sherman, TX
Posts: 4,387
Quote:
Originally Posted by youngump View Post
Besides I've been off the field all summer with eye surgery....
You too??? Must be something about being on these boards. What was yours for? I had a retinal reattachment myself this summer.
__________________
Scott


It's a small world, but I wouldn't want to have to paint it.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Double First Base SRW Softball 11 Thu Aug 04, 2005 10:59am
Double first base bkbjones Softball 11 Wed Jul 20, 2005 09:21pm
ASA Double base play -- I hope I'm not off-base here Tap Softball 9 Wed Mar 05, 2003 11:15pm
appealing on a tag. tdun44 Baseball 7 Mon Jul 01, 2002 02:50pm
Appealing Just Curious Softball 4 Thu Feb 28, 2002 10:12pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:30am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1