The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 19, 2011, 03:00pm
Back from the DL
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Maine
Posts: 2,540
Double first base, appealing

If I recall correctly, if there's a play at first base, and the batter-runner touches only the white portion of the base, the defense must appeal the play before the batter-runner returns to first.

What if the batter-runner chooses not to return to first? What if the ball gets away, and the runner takes off for second? How does that affect the window for appeal?
__________________
Confidence is a vehicle, not a destination.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 19, 2011, 03:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 4,361
Quote:
Originally Posted by bainsey View Post
If I recall correctly, if there's a play at first base, and the batter-runner touches only the white portion of the base, the defense must appeal the play before the batter-runner returns to first.

What if the batter-runner chooses not to return to first? What if the ball gets away, and the runner takes off for second? How does that affect the window for appeal?
I'm assuming ASA here...

If they advance beyond first base, the defense may certainly appeal the missed base (1st base).
__________________
Dave

I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views!

Screw green, it ain't easy being blue!

I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 19, 2011, 11:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,822
Quote:
Originally Posted by bainsey View Post
If I recall correctly, if there's a play at first base, and the batter-runner touches only the white portion of the base, the defense must appeal the play before the batter-runner returns to first.

What if the batter-runner chooses not to return to first? What if the ball gets away, and the runner takes off for second? How does that affect the window for appeal?
No affect at all. Any missed base may be appealed until 1) it is corrected (so no longer missed), or 2) a next pitch, legal or illegal is thrown, or 3) if the end of inning, before all infielders have left the field, or 4) if the end of the game, before the umpires have left the field.
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 20, 2011, 10:42am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve View Post
No affect at all. Any missed base may be appealed until 1) it is corrected (so no longer missed), or 2) a next pitch, legal or illegal is thrown, or 3) if the end of inning, before all infielders have left the field, or 4) if the end of the game, before the umpires have left the field.
Which reminds me, the rule book would be a lot shorter and easier reading if " a next pitch, legal or illegal is thrown, or 3) if the end of inning, before all infielders have left the field, or 4) if the end of the game, before the umpires have left the field" was in a standard definition instead of repeated so much.
[/dreaming off]
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 20, 2011, 10:59am
Back from the DL
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Maine
Posts: 2,540
Quote:
Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve View Post
No affect at all. Any missed base may be appealed until 1) it is corrected (so no longer missed), or 2) a next pitch, legal or illegal is thrown, or 3) if the end of inning, before all infielders have left the field, or 4) if the end of the game, before the umpires have left the field.
Actually, 8-2-M-2 has a shorter appeal window when double first bases are used:

Quote:
Whenever a play is being made by an infielder on the batter-runner, the defense must use the white portion and the batter-runner the colored portion. The batter-runner is out when there is a play being being made a first base and the batter runner touches only the white portion, providing the defense appeals prior to the batter-runner returning to the base. Once the runner returns to the white, no appeal can be made.
So, are you saying that, if the batter-runner returns to first, the appeal window is closed, but if he goes to any other base, the window remains open?
__________________
Confidence is a vehicle, not a destination.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 20, 2011, 06:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by bainsey View Post
Actually, 8-2-M-2 has a shorter appeal window when double first bases are used:
What does a foul ball have to do with the appeal. But Steve summarized an appeal for a missed base.

Quote:
So, are you saying that, if the batter-runner returns to first, the appeal window is closed, but if he goes to any other base, the window remains open?
Just like any other base. FORGET the double-base issue. You may be trying to find something special that is not there.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 21, 2011, 11:32am
Back from the DL
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Maine
Posts: 2,540
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
What does a foul ball have to do with the appeal.
It doesn't. I meant 8-2-M-3. Thanks.

Quote:
You may be trying to find something special that is not there.
Actually, I believe I'm pointing out something that isn't there. Unless I'm missing something (and I could be), I see an inconsistency.

Again, if a batter-runner that only touches the white on a play at first is called safe, the window for appeal remains open until he returns to first. (That's a different window than the usual before-the-next-pitch.) If he never goes back to first, though, why should the window for appeal be different, just because he's gone to a different base?
__________________
Confidence is a vehicle, not a destination.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 21, 2011, 12:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: East Central, FL
Posts: 1,042
Quote:
Originally Posted by bainsey View Post
It doesn't. I meant 8-2-M-3. Thanks.

Actually, I believe I'm pointing out something that isn't there. Unless I'm missing something (and I could be), I see an inconsistency.

Again, if a batter-runner that only touches the white on a play at first is called safe, the window for appeal remains open until he returns to first. (That's a different window than the usual before-the-next-pitch.) If he never goes back to first, though, why should the window for appeal be different, just because he's gone to a different base?
The window for appeal ends when she returns to touch first because, well............. once she returns to touch first, she no longer has missed first!!!


If she never goes back to first (continues on to 2nd) then she still has missed 1st.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 21, 2011, 04:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by bainsey View Post
Actually, 8-2-M-2 has a shorter appeal window when double first bases are used:
No, it doesn't ... that's exactly the same.

Quote:
So, are you saying that, if the batter-runner returns to first, the appeal window is closed, but if he goes to any other base, the window remains open?
I'm not sure why this is difficult. Yes. Of course. He a runner returns and touches a missed base, they've corrected their error - whether this runner is at 2nd or a BR hitting the wrong bag at 1st. Same thing exactly. Once they return to 1st, they've corrected their error.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 25, 2011, 09:35am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Lone Star State
Posts: 117
Quote:
Originally Posted by bainsey View Post
If I recall correctly, if there's a play at first base, and the batter-runner touches only the white portion of the base, the defense must appeal the play before the batter-runner returns to first.

What if the batter-runner chooses not to return to first? What if the ball gets away, and the runner takes off for second? How does that affect the window for appeal?
Rule 8 Batter-Runner and Runner
Section 2. Batter-Runner is Out
Section 7. Runner is Out

Section 2 would obviously apply because we have a Batter-Runner (BR).

8.2.M.3 clearly identifies the sitch in the OP, and provides the Effect. If a play is made at 1st base on the BR, regardless of what happens subsequent to that play, the BR is still required to use the contrasting color portion of the base. If the throw to 1st is wide (or high) and pulls F3 off the bag, the BR is still obligated to use the contrasting color portion of the bag (a play is made on the BR). If the ball gets away from F3, BR only contacts the white portion of the bag and then decides to continue to 2nd, the runner is still obligated to touch 1st as part of normal base-running responsibilities. Remember, having passed 1st base, the BR becomes a runner.

The appeal window is still open, until the BR returns to 1st (8.2.M.3), or until the defense properly requests a live ball appeal. Any fielder in possession of the ball must touch the base missed, or tag the runner committing the violation, if they are still on the playing field.

If play has ended and time is called (or next pitch occurs, legal or illegal), the appeal window has expired.
__________________
Red meat is not bad for you. Fuzzy green meat is bad for you.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 25, 2011, 01:38pm
Back from the DL
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Maine
Posts: 2,540
Quote:
Originally Posted by Umpteenth View Post
The appeal window is still open, until the BR returns to 1st (8.2.M.3), or until the defense properly requests a live ball appeal. Any fielder in possession of the ball must touch the base missed, or tag the runner committing the violation, if they are still on the playing field.
Is this procedure also applicable to ASA slow pitch, or is a verbal appeal acceptable prior to the runner touching first?
__________________
Confidence is a vehicle, not a destination.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Double First Base SRW Softball 11 Thu Aug 04, 2005 10:59am
Double first base bkbjones Softball 11 Wed Jul 20, 2005 09:21pm
ASA Double base play -- I hope I'm not off-base here Tap Softball 9 Wed Mar 05, 2003 11:15pm
appealing on a tag. tdun44 Baseball 7 Mon Jul 01, 2002 02:50pm
Appealing Just Curious Softball 4 Thu Feb 28, 2002 10:12pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:00pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1