![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
The word "or" has me a bit concerned that we really cannot get two outs here. Granted, both batters have technically violated. But, considering both the wording and intent of the rule, I'm not sure whether or not we can get two outs on this play. I could not find a case play that parallels your OP. Likewise, IMO we cannot restrict anyone here. Although two have technically violated, we have only one instance of the DC lodging the discovery. One out. One warning. One bat removal. However, I would be open to hear arguments for getting two outs, a warning, and a restriction all at the same time. (I think a good case could be made based on the rules.) I don't think that punishment would fit the crime, however. Interesting sitch! |
|
|||
|
I believe there is only 1 out here. It may depend upon when the coach asks the PU to check the bat. If after a pitch, runner at first remains and current batter would be out. If before a pitch, runner at first is out. Batter would have to get a different bat.
__________________
Ted USA & NFHS Softball |
|
|||
|
I dont see where the word "or" would limit the call to only a single out. The rule is simply stating the 2 instances where a batter would be called out for having used an illegal bat. You have a batter on base who used the bat, no pitch has been thrown and has been properly appealed by the defense. And, in a completely seperate incident, you have a second batter who has stepped into the batters box with the same illegal bat.
|
|
|||
|
Okay, I cannot help myself, I gotta say it.
![]() The subsequent batted did not violate the rule. She did not enter the box with an illegal bat, she entered empty handed. The bat was already there! ![]()
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
Tom |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Upon further word play review, to paraphrase a former philanderer-in-chief, it depends on what the meaning of "with" is...
You're assuming it means to enter the batter's box with the bat in her possession. Maybe it means the batter entered the box to be with the bat!
__________________
Tom |
|
|||
|
No NFHS case play on this. Not the same rule set, but the same rule; in ASA you CANNOT call both out in this case. You would get the last batter, nullify any other advances, and remove the bat, so that the subsequent batter maust get a new bat.
__________________
Steve ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Illegal pitch NFHS | BuggBob | Softball | 8 | Wed Mar 25, 2009 09:39pm |
| Illegal Player - NSA Fastpitch Rules (related to other illegal player post) | kfrisbee | Softball | 1 | Wed Sep 17, 2008 12:54pm |
| Illegal Sub -- NFHS | argodad | Softball | 9 | Thu Feb 21, 2008 02:48pm |
| NFHS Illegal Slide | collinb | Softball | 1 | Sun Apr 18, 2004 07:43am |
| NEW - 2003 NFHS Football Rule Changes (as written by the NFHS Rules Committee) | KWH | Football | 27 | Tue Jan 21, 2003 11:30am |