The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 14, 2011, 11:02pm
SRW SRW is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Seattle area
Posts: 1,342
Quote:
Originally Posted by NCASAUmp View Post
But in which order?

Say bases are loaded with 2 outs. Does R1 on 3B score?
You have to enforce them in the order in which they occured. IP is a DDB, and you get to award bases, then DB for the RLE, out #3. Run scores.

Remember, both sides F'd up here. the Oteam gets the 3rd out, but they get rewarded for the Dteam and the IP. The Dteam gets rewarded for the Oteam's screwup, but they get penalized for the IP.
__________________
We see with our eyes. Fans and parents see with their hearts.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 15, 2011, 07:58am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 4,361
Quote:
Originally Posted by SRW View Post
You have to enforce them in the order in which they occured. IP is a DDB, and you get to award bases, then DB for the RLE, out #3. Run scores.

Remember, both sides F'd up here. the Oteam gets the 3rd out, but they get rewarded for the Dteam and the IP. The Dteam gets rewarded for the Oteam's screwup, but they get penalized for the IP.
ZING! A SP guy just nailed a FP question.
__________________
Dave

I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views!

Screw green, it ain't easy being blue!

I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 15, 2011, 08:49am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Fremont, NH
Posts: 1,386
Both the ASA Rule Clarification & Play and the NFHS Case 8.6.21 do not specify the number of outs. I think that w/ less than 2 outs, a runner from 3B would score and no one seems to disagree with that. With 2 outs, it's not so clear.

Here's the NFHS case:

RUNNER LEAVES BASE EARLY
8.6.21 SITUATION: With R1 on third base and R2 on first base, F1 double
touches for an illegal pitch. The plate umpire calls an illegal pitch but before the hands separate to deliver the ball, R2 leaves first base on her way to second base.
The base umpire calls "dead ball" and calls R2 out. RULING: R2 is out for leaving first base before F1 released the ball. The illegal pitch is enforced which results in a "ball" awarded to B3 and one base (home) to R1. (6-1-2)


The ruling above deals w/ R2 being out before the illegal pitch penalty is enforced. So if that's the case, with 2 outs to start, the LBE results in the 3rd out. After that, can bases be awarded and a ball be added to the batter's count?
__________________
Ted
USA & NFHS Softball
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
THIS had never happened . . . until now! bigdogrunnin Basketball 36 Thu Feb 26, 2009 10:41am
Whatever happened to "Whatever happened to class"? UmpJM Baseball 7 Sat Jul 30, 2005 03:49pm
Expanded Neutral Zone on Punt - Play happened tonight CruiseMan Football 6 Sat Oct 30, 2004 10:51pm
Screwy wording SamNVa Softball 17 Thu Oct 02, 2003 11:05am
A Play I can not find in rules or case... Actually happened. Self Basketball 111 Tue Dec 18, 2001 12:11am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:30pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1